Share My World: Emerald Pool Hike- with rating

After our sunrise shots we headed over to hike the Emerald Pools Trail.

We started at 7 am. If I could give any advice it would be go early in the morning for better light and cooler temperatures.

Here is a comparison of the view of the river at 7:11 am and 8:42am when we were on the way back.


When we were there in May the pools were very anticlimactic. The hike it's self was wonderful.

Middle pool, 2 mile round trip
Upper pool, 3 mile round trip

Here is the view of the landscape between the two pools...so green

The trail is covered a lot of the way and is so varied and interesting


Seeing the rock formations all along the hike was amazing!

And if you have been following me for awhile you know how much I like plants.

Plants on the Emerald Pool Trail!
Lots of cactus in bloom in the desert in May.

@jarvie

There was so much green.


This hike gets a 8/10

Sara's RatingPart of hikeMy thoughts
2Access to trailEasy access, across from Zion Lodge and parking
2DifficultyEasy to Moderate with three different destinations
2ViewsFantastic
0DestinationMiddle and lower pools were Anticlimactic and kinda ugly
2Time on trialCouple of hours at a slow pace taking pictures along the way

This is an easy to moderate hike with a total elevation change of 350 feet to the upper pool and can be done in a couple of hours. It has great trails along the way and stunning views of Zion's awesome rock formations. It also has some great plant life, for people like me that like to take pictures of plants! :) The downside was the pools. Both were not very nice. Maybe a different time of year they would be full and beautiful.

What a great way to see the beauty of Zion.

Source: Utah.com- Emerald Pool Trail

Share My World Series

2020
Share My World: Crater Lake in the snow
Share My World: Snowmobiling in Winter Park, Colorado
Share My World: Thoughts on COVID19
All the posts for April Trip to Utah

All the 2019 posts are here My 2019 Steem Journey
All the 2018 posts are here My Year Journey on Steem

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency