Return ... Part 62 ...Eye of the Dragon



I stand at the abyss of my soul, looking down into dark crevices where black monsters dwell. They gaze up at me, and I look them in the eyes. “This also you are,” they say, and I almost fall into the void.
―Andrew Ashling




HD-wallpaper-red-dragon-eye-dark-drake-evil-look-ophidian-serpent.jpg
Descent into the Maelström



We barely escaped being arrested by a citizens' patrol.

The girls have gone to bed early, obviously exhausted from the near-miss today and I'm sitting by the fire with Frank intent on picking his mind for answers.

"Now that the cartel has been officially disbanded and the dissidents arrested," I ask, "why is Ike Helmsley continuing his efforts to force citizens to get vaccinated?"

"It's all about power," Frank replies. "From what I hear, the epidemic is over and it turns out the vaccine didn't really work against the plague―it was just a way Ike could force people to take the mark so he could consolidate his control over everyone."

"You mentioned solar storms have abated and power's back on in the city. Do you still feel the emergency was tied to an end times tribulation as in the Book of Revelations?"



Frank gazes into the fire and pauses before answering. "I know the cartel wanted us to believe that―and also to believe plague sores, earthquakes and giant hailstones were spiritual afflictions, not just consequences of solar storms."

"So, are you saying there wasn't a spiritual dimension to the emergency―it was just a grand conspiracy using Otto Baumann's research to make it appear like the Great Tribulation?"

"Well, that's not quite true either,' Frank frowned. "The scriptures say wherever there are factions and rivalry there's insurrection and every evil work. You saw how demons attacked the girls when there was division among you. Just imagine how the Beast would take advantage of a world-wide conspiracy to sow chaos and exert his power."



My brow furrowed as I tried to bend my mind around what to me was the conundrum of spiritual warfare.

"So, you're saying demons are using people like Ike Helmsley to further their own ambitions?"

"Exactly! Sometimes people are consciously aware of demonic involvement and may even invite demons in, but generally they're simply dupes who get corrupted by power and led astray by the lusts of their own flesh."

"Okay," I smiled, "I can live with that. It's the old story of the world, the flesh and the devil."

Frank raised a cautionary hand. "Hold on and slow down, Zach. I'm not talking about resisting temptation. You and the girls have been targeted by demons―you're under direct demonic attack. That's why I told you that you have to learn how to exert authority over them or be destroyed. You're not out of the woods, yet―not by a long shot."



My face fell and Frank could plainly see it. This was the last thing I wanted to hear. We had been through hell and back with this emergency and I thought we were now past the worst of it.

This whole business started with nightly visions of a Basilisk—an immense, dragon-like creature who scared the hell right out of me.

I didn’t want to ever experience such night terrors again, let alone reprise the legend of Saint George slaying a dragon who demanded human sacrifices.

I was no mythical hero on a quest—I just wanted to get my old life back.



To be continued…


© 2021, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency