Return ... Part 61 ...Overrun by Demons



No tin-hat brigade of goose-stepping vigilantes or bibble-babbling mob of blackguarding and corporation paid scoundrels will prevent us.
― John L. Lewis




local patrols.png
'Friendly Patrols'



I'd like to say I confronted the Beast and beat him―but I didn't. He had me down on my knees crawling about on all fours as he lorded it over me. I never felt more powerless... until now.

Ike Helmsley's notorious patrols were coming for us and we were sitting ducks on our land.

In the moment, I froze. Never said I was hero, but this was a new low. Hell, Frank and I had been planning for this so I was without excuse. What was my purpose again, in retreating to my land? Oh yeah, to protect myself and the girls.

Fat chance.



Frank immediately leapt into action. He barked a quick order to Brooke. "Get Angelica and run and hide in the root cellar―we'll join you in a few minutes."

While she was pounding upstairs to notify Angelica, Frank hastily began scribbling a note.

"Lock all the doors and windows and shut off all lights," he called out to me. "Make it look like you've gone back to the city."

Both girls, faces pale with fright, ran past us as I began madly switching off lights and shutting down everything.

Frank hung his handwritten note on the front door.

"Now, drive my car around to the shrubbery in the woods near the exit of the cave and hurry back to the shed."



I took his keys and did as he ordered, noticing the dust cloud on the road getting closer.

I concealed the car behind a bend in the ravine where it was screened by leaves and hurried back to the shed.

Frank was waiting. "I want you to lock this door and crawl in the side window. Then close the trap door and join us in the cellar."

I nodded and did as I was ordered. Just as I was closing the window, I heard the sound of approaching vehicles. I hurried to the root cellar, making sure to close the door.



The girls were huddled in a corner, hugging each other and Frank put a finger to his mouth gesturing for us all to be silent. He pulled a cell phone from his pocket and intensely listened.

"They're fallen for my ruse," he whispered, “I left a note on the door for a delivery man saying we were in the city for the weekend and to leave a parcel on the porch. The patrol bought my ploy but they'll be back after the weekend."

We could hear the distant sound of motors starting up and then eventual silence. "I'll check and make sure the coast is clear, and then I'll come and get you."

I was numb. I couldn't figure out how he could hear the patrol by listening to his phone, but then, under stress I never could think clearly.



Within minutes, he was back. "They're gone―you can all come out now."

We gave a huge sigh of relief and climbed the ladder back up to the ground floor of the shed.

As we were walking back to the house I asked Frank, "How could you hear them on your phone?"

"Simple," he laughed, "I called myself from the burner phone you gave me and left it with the volume turned up concealed near the front door."

He bent down and retrieved the phone from behind a potted plant.

"You're very resourceful," I said, shaking my head in awe.



We made coffee and sat around the fire discussing strategy.

"What about Helen?" asked Angelica, "She's all alone back at your farm."

Frank waved off her concern.

"Helen knows how to take care of herself. We've gone through this drill a dozen times by now. Also, I installed a battery powered driveway alarm at the gated entrance to our property―it alerts us if anyone approaches."

"You've thought of everything," I said admiringly.

"Dealing with visible and invisible foes, you have to be proactive , Zach and have a battle plan. I have an extra alarm―I'll set it up for you."



I felt totally out of my depth, unequal to the task before me. If Frank hadn't been present, the three of us would have been taken by the patrol and placed in internment.

I had so many questions I had to ask him I hardly knew where to begin, but one thing was certain―I never wanted to be caught off-guard again.

And I realized now that if I could be vulnerable to citizen patrols, how could I defend myself and the girls from demons?



To be continued…


© 2021, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency