Return ... Part 53 ...The Red Thread of Fate



This thing I am feeling, I’m almost certain, is the closest I’ll ever come to standing in between truth and reconciliation.
― Raquel Cepeda




soulamtes 4.jpg
Reconciled



I felt at peace for the first time since the emergency began. It was partly because the authorities intended to take Tom Faraday's evidence to the world body and disband the cartel, but it was also the result of a personal epiphany― I found in Brooke the person I had been searching for my whole life.

Mine was a simple but profound insight akin to Alexander the Great's action when confronted by the Gordian knot. The warrior was told whoever wanted to rule the world would have to solve the daunting conundrum by unravelling its intricate twists. Alexander could have wasted a lifetime rising to the challenge but instead, simply took out his sword and hacked the knot to pieces.

My weapon was the sword of the spirit―a simple bit of wisdom imparted to me by my old mentor, Father Breton. He must had told me a hundred times when I was trying to resolve the conflict between flesh and spirit to simply follow my heart and in the end, I finally listened.



Maybe I was using the matter-spirit dichotomy as an excuse to procrastinate about making a decision between Brooke and Angelica.

It was intriguing considering Angelica was the clairvoyant whose name meant angel and Brooke represented an enticing nature sprite to me, her name incanting an elemental―water, or literally, a brook.

I thought I couldn't choose between them because each represented the two sides of my nature, but Pascal was right, “The heart has its reasons which reason knows nothing of. Brooke fulfills all the parts of me and for that, I don't need philosophy or a theology degree.



So, having come to terms with my emotions, I awoke the next morning to a room filled with sunshine and I took that as a confirmation of my decision. I know it's naive and superstitious but it perfectly coincided with my feelings and just felt right.

Frank and Helen arrived early so we could take advantage of the fair weather and we worked steadily through the morning and made good progress with the harvest.

When we broke for lunch, Angelica caught my eye and pulled me aside.

She was smiling. "I just wanted to say you and Brooke looked like a happily married couple working together in your garden. I think you resolved your dilemma and I'm happy for both of you."



I was speechless―I had no idea how to respond.

"It's okay, Zach, I understand―you couldn't choose both of us. I am sincerely happy for the two of you and I know the three of us will always be friends."

She embraced me and the moment I felt her arms around me I began to sob. She continued to hug and soothe me, assuring me it would be all right.

"Although Brooke's your life mate, we'll never lose our special connection, Zach― we're joined in our spirits. I'll try to stay out of your dreams, but I can't guarantee it may not occasionally happen." She grinned at me mischievously and we both laughed.

We were joined together by the red thread of fate and the magical cord might at times stretch or tangle, but it would never, ever break.

And in a world fraught with confusion and uncertainty, Angelica and Brooke were the two people about whom I would always be certain



To be continued…


© 2021, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency