Return ... Part 47 ...Evading the Cabal



You've never heard a siren until you've heard one looking for you and you alone. Then you really hear it and know what it is and understand that the man who invented it was no man, but a fiend from hell who patched together sounds and blends of sounds in a way that could paralyze and sicken. . . . But when it is after you, it is the texture of the whole world. You will hear it until you die.
― Elliott Chaze




Eyes Everywhere.jpg
Watchers Everywhere



Every man's nightmare is unique. Perhaps that's why suggesting the presence of evil can stir more terror than depicting it clearly. Something not clearly represented is more threatening than something horrifically defined.

I know my imagination can conjure more demons than Dante's Inferno. That's why lying awake at night can be a horror show.

The prospect of demonically energized human beings tracking us down reminds me of Bradbury's Fahrenheit 451 where Montag had to evade capture while being pursued by a mechanical, robotic hound bent on sniffing him out.

The prospect of being tracked by a patrol scared me so badly I gave Frank one of our burner phones so he could give us a heads up if he knew the locals were seeking us or just headed toward our farm.



As the old 70's song goes, paranoia strikes deep. Even though we're not on the Beast's radar at the moment, that's no guarantee we won't be. A patrol might routinely check out our farm and bring us in for questioning.

These considerations motivated me to take stock of our provisions and in doing so I came across an emergency radio I used to get information during blackouts. I made the mistake of turning it on and listening to the world news and what I heard deeply disturbed me.

There was a report of a bright object descending from the sky over the Temple Mount in Jerusalem. Some thought it a UFO and others saw the outline of a person.

I had a feeling this would be interpreted as a supernatural sign with some other-worldly significance.

Sure enough, by the six o'clock news, right wing religious sects were claiming that Jesus had returned in the clouds and descended upon the Temple Mount.

It was happening just as Tom Faraday predicted and the Jewish Feast of Tabernacles was only days away. It was time to contact Breton again and get his advice.



I told the girls of my plan to drive into Bobcaygeon and use a burner phone and dispose of it on the way back so it would be untraceable.

But I was feeling guilty about leaving the girls unprotected, so I gave them a burner phone too so they could contact me or Frank Clifford in the event something happened.

I showed them the root cellar in the shed and advised them to hide there if a patrol came by the farm. I knew it was a temporary fix but we'd have to address the larger problem of security when I returned.

I hugged both of them and told them not to worry. I think I was trying to convince myself.



But once out on the country roads, I settled down a bit. Where we lived was still quite remote and it would be a while I figured before Ike Helmsley and his minions would get around to checking in on us.

I stopped on the outskirts of town in a remote area and phoned Breton from there. He picked up at once.

"Zach! Good to hear from you. I've been praying. I trust you've had no further attacks?"

"No, we're all good in that respect, Father, but there's something more pressing that concerns me. I'm sure you've heard the news reports about the supposed return of the Lord in Jerusalem. Well, I have evidence that ties the cabal to a great plot intended to deceive the nations by using the emergency and the purported return of the Lord to usher in a one-world government. The problem is I don't know where to go to get this news out."



"I know someone you need to meet with Zach―as it turns out he's meeting with me at my office tomorrow. Would you be willing to risk coming into the city to talk with him directly and present your evidence?"

"I'd crawl over ten miles of broken pavement if necessary to get to someone who would not only listen but be able to intervene in this matter."

"Then it's settled―three pm tomorrow in my office... and Zach, be careful."



I ended the call with more hope than I had in weeks. It seemed an eternity had passed since we fled the city although it had only been little over a month since Tom was murdered and the girls and I retreated to the cabin.

I destroyed the burner cell and headed home with renewed determination. Breton had contacts in high places and maybe if I were convincing enough I could finally make a difference.

A wave of sorrow passed over me though, as I thought of Tom Faraday murdered by the cabal. Perhaps his efforts would not be in vain and his murder finally avenged. I hoped so.

What I wanted as much as seeing the Beast's plans thwarted was Tom's killers brought to justice.



To be continued…


© 2021, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency