Suspiciously like a KGB agent

So, inspired by my recent incursions in the social media marketing realm, I've been making an effort of staying active on social media platforms. Last night I even went on Twitter for the first time in more than a year, so... that should tell you I mean business.

Yet I couldn't help a chuckle, when I realized that my social media presence so far, on Instagram, at least, has painted me more like a KGB agent, rather than an aspiring writer. Sharing Russian music, Julian Assange pics. You know, the usual for Hive, yet maybe not what my IG audience is craving.

So yeah, I'm thinking that, in the interests of a writing career, I should steer clear of politics, at least. Weird, feels suspiciously like being silenced. Shameful, almost.

image.png
Photo by dole777 on Unsplash

Aaanyway, what I was going to ask is directed to fellow artists (so, writers, visual artists, or whatever else, this one's for you) :

What's your social media content like?

I mean, I used to be into this regular posting a lot, maybe a year ago? But I felt so generic. I've never been a social media person, I literally hate posting stuff like selfies, or you know, the usual crap they got on there. And while that's fine as an individual, it's not too great for building an audience, obviously.

So back then, I was following these bloggers and authors, sharing tips on what sort of things to post. Which made it feel so... bland. So now I'm trying to steer clear of that, as well, and post things that reflect my style a little more.

Which is why I'm honestly curious. If you're in any sort of art, how are you marketing that on social media?

I really look forward to reading the comments!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency