Preparation towards HF25 | api.deathwing.me Updates

Hey everyone!

It's been quite sometime since our last upgrade, which made it easier for node operators and witnesses to run and maintain their blockchain nodes. Simplifying the upgrade process and reducing the costs in terms of system requirements to run a Hive node.

Now, HF25, dubbed Equilibrium by yours truly, (the other suggestion was Collateral by @inertia, I didn't see any other suggestion.) is coming in two days. In preparation of the upcoming hardfork, the following took place.

  • As a witness, I have started signalling HF25 (v1.25.0) as of yesterday. I am in full support of this upcoming hardfork.

  • As a node operator, api.deathwing.me has been upgraded and running on HF25 code for the past few days. (More on this later)

For the projects that I am running/developing most of them, in theory, should be plug & play with HF25. So I believe there are no updates required on that end.

@meowcurator was down for a few days because of Hive-Engine issues, we could not claim rewards, hence we could not payout LEO rewards to the people who delegated (or holds meowLEO) however, this has been solved.


custom_json and Broadcast Errors

api.deathwing.me at the moment, is the second most popular node in the blockchain. (Though this is a subjective opinion. I have arrived at this conclusion using traffic data) While I did notify other node operators and witnesses (and most dApp developers) I did not think of writing a post about it, but it could've been useful.

What happened was that codebase requires both STEEM_CHAIN_ID and HIVE_CHAIN_ID, because of how hardfork procedures work and how it needs to know of Steem Chain ID prior to the hardfork. get_config() call, which is a call that major libraries use to determine blockchain parameters. However, this caused beem and other libraries to mistake HF25 nodes as Steem nodes, because of how it returned both chain ID's at once.

The fix for this was quite simple, have beem ignore Steem chain ID if Hive chain ID is available, and was quickly deployed. But unfortunately, due to time it took for people to figure out what was wrong (from a dev perspective) and to be announced, a lot of people were worried about not being able to broadcast transactions.

Since the fixes are now in place, you should not see these issues any longer.


That's about it. Feel free to let me know if you have any questions about the upcoming hardfork, my projects or my node.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency