Witness Update - Now a semi full public api node, Future plans, call for support!

Shmoogle Osukami's Witness - The prettiest witness node on HIVE!

IMG_20210209_112947.jpg
This post serves to expand on the information related to my nodes capabilities as well as my stance on future hardforks and more background on myself.
  • CPU: AMD Ryzen 3900X
  • Ram: 128GB Corsair Vengeance Pro
  • HDD: 2TB NVME 4th Gen
  • Witness is based in the UK running on a Home network, provided added decentralization from large cloud networks.
  • Internet: 200MB/s Download | 20mb/s Upload
  • Hived runs under Ubuntu 20.04 within WLS2
  • System also runs a Dlux node, RPC-Proxy, hivefeed-js
  • I have an external VPS running @therealwolf's witness monitoring tools to warn me if I miss blocks and automatically disable my witness.

About me and my abilities

I've been on this blockchain for about 3 years, while at first I wasn't very active I've grown to love this place and now it is at the heart of everything I do in my daily life.

The primary thing I do is stream on @vimm which accounts for 90% of the content I create on the blockchain, I also do a weekly vlog on @threespeak as well as the odd post about coffee and my aquariums.

I'm a very technically minded person, having used computers for many years I can quickly find my way around them and can competently look at source code and know what's going on.

I have worked on websites before and still do as a hobby, I have a couple of projects I'm working on right now that I'll announce when they are ready. Both are related to hive.

I generally have a lot of time on my hands so I can dedicate time to keeping on top of my witness node and all the latest changes happening with the hive software.

I am also open to learning new coding languages and skills, I've already learned a lot from setting up the witness node.

Why vote for me

The main reason I decided to run a witness node was because I have a beast of a machine and that I could. I had found a guide that helped me run it on windows 10 via WSL later decided to move it over to running within Virtual Box.

My node is also run from home, this is an added benefit of being decentralized away from large cloud servers and datacenters which could 'de-platform' hive witnesses much like amazon 'de-plaformed' parlor.

Hive needs more witness nodes like this.

Other than that I'm a regular content creator who loves hive.

My stance on future hardforks

I plan to review future hardfork source code to the best of my ability and will make a dedicated post about said hardforks when they come about detailing my stance on the various aspects of said hardfork.

Public Api node

My witness is now also a public API node!
You can use it by adding https://hived.shmoogleosukami.co.uk/ to hive keychain if you choose to use it.

At this time it's a semi-full node.
What I mean by this is currently my witness will handle all traffic that can be processed by HiveD itself but will forward all traffic that requires hivemind to another public API node that has hivemind, currently this is https://api.deathwing.me/

This is a temporary setup until I get hivemind setup and synced on my witness node.

At this time I do not know how well my node performs compaired to other major nodes. We'll see soon enough. :D

Future plans for the witness

  • Get hivemind set up and running. - Requires more HDD space than I have atm
  • Get power backup for my node and router(internet). - An expense I can't afford just yet.
  • Set up a hive-engine witness.

To vote for my witness you can do so via:

  • peakD: https://peakd.com/me/witnesses - Search for shmoogleosukami
  • hive.blog: https://wallet.hive.blog/~witnesses - scroll down and look for shmoogleosukami
  • Hivesigner or hivekeychain: https://vote.hive.uno/@shmoogleosukami

Final words

My target is to get to around witness rank 70 and above.(currently 108) Getting to the high ranks will allow my to justify more expenses such as getting battery backup set up, upgrading my internet connection (if needed) etc.

A this time I 'think' I produce enough blocks to cover electricity cost of the node (due to low load mainly) of course with more use come more costs and I would hope you will choose to support my witness by using one of your votes on me.


If you enjoyed my post feel free to upvote, reblog, and drop a comment below too!

You could also vote for me as a witness!

Thanks for watching!


Where to find me:

PeakD | hive.blog | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Youtube | 3Speak| Vimm.tv

Join Hive!

Check out these blockchain games!

Disclaimer! These are referral links

CryptoBrewMaster | Rising Star | Exode Game | DCity | Splinterlands

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency