MY FASCINATION WITH KOREAN FOOD

Disclaimer, I'm not a K-drama fan but I admire those people who have all the energy and time to watch K-Drama non-stop. I watch a few Korean Shows before such as The Kingdom and It's Okay Not To Be Okay and it's the only shows I watched from start to finish. I also watched the movie Parasite which was really interesting. Watching the shows and movie made me realize how Koreans are very connected with their food. I love how food are incorporated in their productions. They always eat together and enjoy their meal with a bottle of soju.

During the early days of lockdown, researching for new dishes was one of the things I love to do. I thought it'll be difficult to make Korean food vegan but apparently a lot of Korean dishes are vegan and can be veganized easily. Say for example the Dubujorim which is also my personal favorite. Its a spicy braised tofu with lots of onions and onion chives. Its usually serve as a side dish for Samgyupsal but can also be consumed as it is with plain rice but I opt for corn grits because I don't eat rice tat time. I learned making this recipe through a Korean Youtuber Maangchi. You can check the video tutorial here . It's very simple, easy but very flavorful.

page0(6).jpg

page0.jpg

Another dish which I enjoy to make is Yachaejeon or best described as Vegetable Pancake.

page0(3).jpg

you can find the recipe and video tutorial here https://www.maangchi.com/recipe/yachaejeon

Koreans, just like any other Asians, love noodles. One of the most popular noodle dishes are Japchae and Jajangmyeon. Both dishes are traditionally cooked with meat but since I'm a vegan, I omit the meat and replace it with mushrooms.

page0(4).jpg

I was inspired to make this dish after watching several videos of Maangchi making Korean dishes. You can find the recipe of the Japchae here https://www.maangchi.com/photo/my-vegetarian-japchae

page0(5).jpg

This is by far the most challenging Korean dish I made because I replaced some ingredients with what's available in my kitchen and I don't know what it supposed to taste like. For the recipe you can find it here https://seonkyounglongest.com/vegan-jjajangmyeon/

page0(1).jpg

page0(2).jpg

I enjoyed making these dishes. I made so much Yachaejeon for my friends that when I left for Negros they'll message me and tell me how much they misses it. I was also surprised that I got into cooking Korean dishes out of all the cuisines out there. I have several recipes on my list that I will have to try soon. I can't wait to share it with everyone.

PS I'll be making a separate blogs to show you my version of making these dishes. Stay tuned! Annyeong!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency