The Morning Glory Story

IMG_1955.jpg

Today is the first Morning Glory to pop!

Morning Glories grow wild in Colorado, so I am not worried that all my work will be for nothing as we head into fall -

IMG_1792.jpg

You see, while I was gone to the Porcupine Festival this summer, my partner, Kent, put up a trellis between my shed

IMG_1793.jpg

door and the Bee Hive.

This was due to me telling him that I have to do a 4-point coning and call in the Bee Devas and Pan so that the bees will let me get into my shed - which is where all my art supplies are and - I even work in there.

The trellis did nothing, so I had an intuitive thought to plant some morning glories - it was August already so when I tried to go out to the nurseries to find some - they were gone already.

morning-glory-purple.jpg

So, I bought some from a lady on etsy... they were on sale - $17 for 4 and then 4 for free plus $12 shipping.

But this is how they arrived:

mg1.png

mg2.jpg

mg3.jpg

mg4.jpg

mg5.jpg

mg6.jpg

mg7.jpg

mg8.jpg

mg8a.jpg

  • they arrived in a baggie with damp paper towel - they arrived a day late - and they sat in the sun outside my house for 8 hours because they were late.

I talked to the seller and she offered no remedy - she seemed to think they could go right in the ground in the baking high altitude sun...NOPE.
We put them under a grow light which we left on and tended to them daily.

After 3 weeks, they were strong enough to plant outside and now they are taking off up the trellis:

IMG_1954.jpg

And have started blooming!

I have to water them every day, but that's ok. They will give the bees something to eat.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency