Share My World: Drive from Nairobi to the Maasai Mara

At the end of 3 days in Nairobi the ASU and Prescott students and staff, the Dopoi staff and the Mara guides all loaded into the vehicles and we had a beautiful drive from Nairobi to the Maasai Mara. The drive is about 5 hours, according to Googlemaps. We took longer, stopping a few places along the way.

The drive was so beautiful with such varied landscape!

The route

The Great Rift Valley

The rifts are geographic trenches and faults that extend from Lebanon in the north to Mozambique, Kenya in the south. According to Geogolgy.com

A rift can be thought of as a fracture in the earth's surface that widens over time.

This region is also important for understanding the roots of human evolution. Many hominid fossil finds occur within the rift, and it is currently thought that the rift's evolution may have played an integral role in shaping our development

So the plates are moving away from each other and in the process have created this beautiful valley.


It was a great location for some portraits.


Our first wild animal sighting: Baboons and Marmots


Some parts were so green!

Enjoying the Drive


We stopped in Narok to switch vehicles and we caught a gimps of the local market. Our first introduction to the beautiful colors of the Mara. For more beautiful colors see my last post The Colors of Kenya


We did a little off roading toward the end in the vans. And made it to camp that evening.

Share My World Series

2018
My Year Journey on Steem All the 2018 post are here.

2019
Share My World: Sweet Sacred Experience
Share My World: Red Rock Scenic Byway
Share My World: Grand Canyon in the Snow
Share My World: Grief and General Conference Weekend
Share My World: Being a photographer for Global Resolve
Share My World: 3 days in Nairobi

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency