My friend arrived in Colombia yesterday

People who have the means to work online or are retired really have it made as far as things are concerned right now. I mean Covid sucks, but I think the regulations surrounding it are suckier. I am one of those people that believes it is in fact and illness but do not believe it is a pandemic. My personal opinions aside there are some countries that it is extremely easy for people to get into and a friend of mine arrived in one of those countries yesterday.


src

I'm waiting on him to get me some photos because it has been so long that i was there that the pictures are actually prints. I think a lot of people aren't even old enough to remember that we had to do that in order to look at our photos.

My friend is American, so he didn't need a visa at all to get into Colombia. If you are from the "usual suspects" as far as countries are concerned you can just turn up to Colombia and get a 90 day visa which is extendable to 180 days. If you want to live in Colombia, you should get to work on that pretty early on since 180 days per calendar year is technically the maximum that you can stay there in a calendar year.


colombia-visa-requirements-by-nationality-1024x602.jpg

If you are from one of green places you can just turn up and basically walk in. I don't know what Greenland did to piss off Colombia but you can't go! Well, you can you just have to apply for a visa first that will almost certainly be approved if you aren't a criminal.

As far as Covid is concered

You do not need to be vaccinated to get into Colombia, you do not need PCR test to get into Colombia, you are expected to wear masks and use hand sanitizer in the airport but once you are out in the open I have been told that outside of Bogota and other populated areas that people have basically just "given up" on covid and live life as normal. Keep in mind this is nothing official, just what my friend who is there right now is telling me. He is at a beach area and says that he almost never sees anyone with a mask on and includes tourists and locals alike in this number.

Flights from the USA to Colombia are absurdly cheap considering the distance and while the US State department advises you to not go I say ignore them... they tell us to not go anywhere while having one of the most dangerous countries on the planet I have ever been to.

So if you need a getaway, know that Colombia is basically hassle-free as far as entry is concerned. If you are one of those super nervous people as far as Covid is concerned you may wish to avoid it though because my boots on the ground report that as soon as you are away from the major cities, Covid protocols basically don't exist. I for one am for this way of life but understand that there are others that are made uneasy by it. If you are uneasy by people not living 2 meters apart and think everyone should always wear respirators / masks to live, then it is probably best if you stay home. However, if you want to live free, Colombia is open for business!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency