Monthly COVID19 update

Checking in with my monthly COVID19 update.

At the beginning of the crisis I was so interested to know what was happening in other parts of the world and thought some might like to know about things here in Arizona.

On March 13, 2020 I posted Times of change and uncertainty. A couple of days after the World Health Organization announced that COVID-19 is officially a pandemic and Arizona Governor Doug Ducey declared a state of emergency.

On April 14, 2020 I posted Share My World: Thoughts on COVID19 about working from home, ASU moving to online instruction and some of the alerts and numbers of cases.

It is now May 14, 2020 and time for another update. Good News!

Arizona Governor Ducey has indicated that the Stay-At-Home order will expire May 15, 2020. Tomorrow!

While we have been staying at home and practicing social distancing for two months now it is only this month (May) that I had to start wearing a face mask.

At Mayo Clinic going to the doctor

An email letting me know that my appointment that was cancelled in March is going to be rescheduled.


Grocery shopping at Costo

The sign says Effective 5/2/20 All Members, Guests and Employees Must Wear Face Covering.

Why were people not wearing face coverings in March and April during the height of the pandemic in Arizona? I don't know.

These are the only two times that I wore a mask during the past couple of months.


Risk Alerts this month

April 14, 2020- National Death Toll raises to 22,115
April 16, 2020- United Airlines cut their flights by 90%
April 18, 2020- Canada US border closed
April 21, 2020- Immigration suspended
April 29, 2020- Governor Ducey announces stay at home order
May 9, 2020- Navajo Nation hard hit and curfew in place

Numbers as of May 14, 2020
Source

World
Confirmed: 4.35M
Recovered: 1.55M
Deaths: 297K

United States
Confirmed: 1.42M
Recovered: 244K
Deaths: 84,763

Arizona
Confirmed: 12,176
Recovered:
Deaths: 594

Social distancing, Social distancing ,Social distancing

ASU graduation online
Yes, the first ASU class to have a virtual commencement ceremony!
I work for ASU and so have been meeting with my students and co-worker via Zoom.

Some of the things I have liked about the past three months.

  1. More calls, text, and video chatting with family and friends
  2. My morning walks
  3. Working on my photo organization project!
  4. The trip to Southern Utah to see @jarvie. That was awesome!

It is good that things are starting open up. I will still be working from home for a while and am interested to see what these next few months bring- what changes will be permanent and what will go back to "normal". I talked to my friend in Kenya yesterday and they are still on lock down and the numbers are rising there. While things might be improving here in Arizona there are many part of the world that are still struggling through this crisis.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency