Container is setup at the homestead, but the prices are stunning!!!

The planning for the homestead reached the point where a container was needed. Three months ago, a 40 foot high container was $3400.00. I require all purchases Made by me are to be paid with cash, by personal choice.

I took in my cash, only to find that two weeks later, the cost was now $4300.00! So I headed home to collect up the extra cash. They also added money for delivery costs, so I needed another $1200.00.

Six weeks later, I took the "new" cash price with me; and went down to buy "my" container...only to find that the same container was now $6000.00! A $2600.00 increase in two months....

Sadly, there are also large hikes on food for adding to prepping storage. We are soon approaching a cliff of price increases, that will make it difficult to buy food for consumption; that will stop further prepping inventories! The numbers I am seeing on food pricing is now at 30%, for this year; but this is based on government numbers, so I'm sure it is higher. Keep prepping as long as you can; then Plant as much as possible, as fast as possible!

Since I Had to have a secure storage location to make progress in order to get moved, I decided to look at the 20 foot containers. I found that the 20 foot containers were $3700.00 (plus delivery), and even though it is not big enough for my plan; it is just enough for my secure storage needs. I bought it before it went up (which it did on the first); and had it delivered to the pad I already made.

It looks pretty good:

IMG_20210902_164935102.jpg

It will become my tool shed, while I rebuild / upgrade the dwelling, and build my alternate energy systems and greenhouses. The loss of space will force me to build secure storage to make up for the smaller container.

It is, at least, in good shape:

IMG_20210902_170354073.jpg

I set it in on a railroad tie foundation since the floor is designed to carry 70,000 pounds during shipping. There was no need to support the mid span. The resulting assembly is quite stable, but I intend to level it next

The shade will keep it cooler inside:

IMG_20210902_170456591.jpg

I bought their high security lock system, but I will weld it myself as they wanted another $100.00 for that 15 minute job. But it is good steel, and reasonably well made:

A look inside:
IMG_20210902_170628142.jpg

All the crooks will see:
IMG_20210902_170622204.jpg

It includes a round high security lock, with a round key; that is totally contained inside the steel boxes when welded on the doors. The round key finds the lock through the center hole.

They have priced themselves too high for continued use on my homestead, and I can Not recommend this method, unless you need this level of security!

I will likely mill my own lumber for the new buildings, I'm tired of rewarding greed!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency