Roti Chai Butter Chicken

12.jpg
4.jpg

5.jpg

Today for lunch, I visit the Roti Chai restaurant because today is their last day of operation. Their food is more focused on Punjabis cuisine. In simple terms, we call it the northern Indian cuisine. However, due to the prolonged lockdown, expensive rent, and now fewer students in Desa Setapak due to the nearby college class going online, they decided to close it down.

6.jpg

When I come here to eat before the lockdown, I always try t order the Butter Chicken when I can afford it. Butter chicken also calls murgh makhani is one of the northern Indian cuisine's signature dishes. It is a curry of chicken in a spiced tomato, butter, and cream sauce.

I order a large portion which cost me RM20.90 along with a naan that cost me another RM3.

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg

11.jpg

12.jpg

So what makes it expensive? It is due to the sauce. The sauce is a tomato and onion-based sauce that is simmered until smooth and much of the water has evaporated. And trust me, you will need a lot of tomato paste to make a good amount of this sauce. Normally when it is done, a chunk of butter will be placed on top of it.

It feels sad to see them close, I hope other restaurants I love can survive this lockdown.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency