Bye Bye Blues At Anderson's Restaurant - Enjoy with Troy!

Anderson Restaurant- Copy.jpg

Allow me to share a Story

Welcome to Anderson's Restaurant in small downtown Toledo, IA complete with a checkered board floor, circa 1932. On the left we see the owner and his wife standing with my Grandma Florence. Grandma waited on tables of business men over breakfast and lunch back then

My mom, Dolores, used to tell the story of when she was a wee small child and first sang music. They put mom up on the diner counter and she sang then fashionable song, 'Bye Bye Blues.' As the story goes, she sang it in perfect pitch and they even threw pennies at her. There was just one problem. She could not pronounce the word blues. So it came out bye Bye Booze.

Mind you this was during the prohibition era. I love telling that story.

I have loved that old song and it is part of my own repertoire of music I play. The song is a standard for both jazz and barbershop groups. The song was relatively new in 1932 but made a resurgence in the 1950's with Les Paul and Mary Ford.

And some music

I want to offer a lesser know recording of this song by the pop group Paper Lace. You may remember this group from their two hits, 'Billy Don't Be a Hero' and 'The Night Chicago Died.' Take a moment and enjoy the upbeat recording of Bye Bye Blues by the 70's band Paper Lace. I bet it will perk you up!

Thanks for listening. Feel free to comment, upvote or repost.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency