The Insufferable Arrogance of Larry King - A True Story

"I never learned anything when I was talking." - Larry King

Here's a true story about Larry King.

My story is about one of those days when Larry apparently wasn't about to learn anything...

It was the early 1980's.

Back in the early days of Silicon Valley, I developed and sold an unbreakable encryption program for microcomputers.

The Apple ][ had recently fallen off the tree. I had worked hard to save up and purchase one. The Apple was the machine on and for which I had developed my guaranteed privacy software.

Enigma Machine Rotors

Enigma Machine Rotors
By TedColes via Wikimedia Commons

I remember tuning in Larry King on the radio.

I came across his show in progress one day while driving home from work.

King was interviewing an expert on the topic of codes and ciphers. The impression they were giving the audience was that the government was able to break any existing code or cipher. When they opened the show to callers, I had to try and refute that mistaken notion.

Having arrived at home, I was quite surprised to be connected shortly after dialing in. I found myself suddenly on-air in King's New York studio with Mr. King and his guest.

"Hello caller, you're on Larry King Live."

"Hello Mr. King, thank you for taking my call."

I proceeded to mention my software, based on the principles of the One-Time Pad or Vernam Cipher.

Much to my shock, King and his guest proceeded to ridicule me, claiming that there was no such thing as an unbreakable code.

Recovering my composure, I pointed out that the One Time System is clearly described in David Kahn's comprehensive book on cryptography, "The Codebreakers".

Larry King responded:

"It isn't so. I know David Kahn. David Kahn is a friend of mine. There is no such thing as an unbreakable code."

Larry King in action...

Larry King in action...
By Petty Officer 1st Class Chad J. McNeeley via Wikimedia Commons

I was flabbergasted.

Never before had I been up against an arrogance that would blatantly, publicly deny an easily verifiable statement. All anyone need do is open a copy of "The Codebreakers" by Kahn and read about Vernam Ciphers and the "one-time system."

King apparently knew that his audience would take his word over mine without giving it a second thought.

In my darker moments, I still wonder.

Is Larry King simply an arrogant, ignorant stooge? Or, is he is a shill for the powers that be who would rather have the "common man" believing that they are all-seeing and all-knowing?

"The one-time system is unbreakable both in theory and in practice."
- David Kahn, "The Codebreakers"

You can quite easily verify the existence of unbreakable codes for yourself. Read the description and rationale in "The Codebreakers" by David Kahn.

What can you learn from Larry King's hubris?

The next time you hear a talking head spout some adamant pontification, don't simply take his statement for granted. Should you take the word of an "authority" over a "common man," simply because the authority is a big name or a person in power? If the topic is a matter of importance to you, do your own research.

I don't know David Kahn. David Kahn is not a friend of mine. But he does write books.


FIN


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency