"JESUS LOVES YOU - But I'm His Favorite"

"Who, being loved, is poor?" - Oscar Wilde

It was a warm and slightly muggy New Hampshire summer afternoon.

I was spending a few weeks dog-sitting for my brother while he ranged about the country doing some technical jobs. Although the dog was rather temperamental, we had something of a truce in place. So far, I had not lost any appendages that I cared about.

I had brought my own, rather portable, work with me.

Between dog feedings and walkings, I worked at my computer and dealt with the day to day issues of supporting a small agorist enterprise. I've been an entrepreneur, on and off, for most of my life. Lately it has been more "on."

My long term goal is to create and to bring things of authentic value and blessing into the world. It's can be a tricky business, not easily accomplished when you try to navigate all the pitfalls, minefields, and traps set out by human governments.

New Hampshire Country Store

New Hampshire Country Store
By Nancy Lusby, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

My work being done for the day,

I went for a drive to the nearby village of Chocorua. I had lived there with my family back in the '70s, and while I could see a number of changes, the small rural village atmosphere was still completely intact. Among establishments giving Chocorua its "Old New England" flavor is the New Hampshire Country Store.

The store is owned and run by an old family friend. My wife met MaryAnne decades ago when they were both in the local maternity ward. I parked the car and went in to say "Hi."

Knick-knacks lined the shelves and walls...

Knick-knacks lined the shelves and walls...
Photo courtesy of Orin Zebest CC 2.0 and http://flickr.com

Knick-knacks lined the shelves and walls.

In order to survive, classic country stores must be very general, carrying a broad spectrum of necessities and luxuries. During the high tourist seasons, the country store has to capture the business of myriad tourists passing through town.

When I walked into the store, MaryAnne was busy dealing with a couple of customers at the front counter. Not wishing to disturb her, I wandered through the store, looking over various gizmos, gadgets, and plaques.

While I've always been amused by reading them,

I've never been one who would actually buy a clever plaque or bumper sticker. That day, however, I was blown away by the legend on a small, oval, ceramic plaque. The plaque read,
"Jesus Loves You, But I'm His Favorite."

"Jesus Loves You - *But I'm His Favorite*"

"Jesus Loves You - But I'm His Favorite"
Original Photo

Quite seriously, although I had never bought a humorous knick-knack anything like it before, I took this particular plaque off the wall and forward to the checkout counter.

Have you ever been loved? I mean, really loved?

If you're lucky, you had at least a mother who loved you unconditionally. I was lucky to have a mom that loved and encouraged me constantly. She always told me that I could do anything that I set out to do.

Feeling loved is perhaps the most wonderful feeling in the world. The author of the book of John felt loved. How do we know this? Again and again in his written account of the good news about Jesus, John says something very interesting.

Rather than refer to himself by name, John speaks of himself as "the disciple whom Jesus loved." For example:

"One of his disciples, whom Jesus loved, was reclining at table at Jesus' side" - John 13:23

There are multiple other instances of this in John's book:
John 19:26, John 20:2, John 21:7, John 21:20

I used to wonder about this.

It seemed strange to me that someone would refer to themselves as "the disciple whom Jesus loved." What an odd thing to say. However, as the years have gone by, I have personally come to feel more and more loved by Jesus. I've been through many "deep waters" that have tested my faith. Loss of a very young grandson, recovery from deep debt, the serious illness of a spouse, attacks by government agents, and other disheartening and painful struggles.

Through all of these difficulties, there has been one constant; a strong sense of the love and provision and care of Jesus my God. And so, by the time I encountered that little plaque, just seeing it resonated with me strongly! I had to have it.

An Unsplash Photo

An Unsplash Photo
Photo courtesy of Jez Timms and http://unsplash.com

Christian friend,

I now know why John spoke of himself as "the disciple whom Jesus loved." He had been with Jesus long enough to feel that overwhelming, strong sense of being loved by the LORD. He had experienced the love of Christ, a love that Paul later spoke of in this way:

"...that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may have strength to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge..." - Ephesians 3:17-19

I understand that feeling now, because Jesus has been with me long enough that I, too, feel overwhelmingly loved. I have come to understand and believe that anyone who becomes close to Jesus, who experiences his incredible love, will ultimately feel as though no one else could possibly be loved as much.

My dear, as yet non-Christian friend,

wouldn't you like to experience a love like that? You certainly can. Jesus once said this:

"Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest." - Matthew 11:28

There is presently an open invitation in effect. You are invited to come to Jesus, and find in him the God who loves you and offers you eternal life. How can you do so? I have suggested in this other article that you begin by reading the book John, the "disciple whom Jesus loved," wrote many years ago. You are also more than welcome to discuss this with me.


FIN


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency