If You .Must. Leave Your Dog šŸ¶ Home Alone...šŸ•

Joshua was a sweet-tempered basset hound.

I had gone to New Hampshire in order to start work. My wife stayed in Chicago to close our affairs, planning to follow later with our young son.

Hoping to surprise them, I found Joshua at the shelter, a beautiful, low-slung basset hound with big, soulful eyes. A gift, I thought,for my family, and kindness to an orphaned dog. Sadly, I lacked wisdom, not realizing what was to come.

Joshua Was A Sweet Basset Hound

Joshua Was A Sweet Basset Hound
Photo courtesy of bastianmb and http://pixabay.com

I walked to work one morning,

having sternly instructed Joshua to remain at our cabin in the woods. Lunchtime came, and we piled into his Mercedes with foreman Bob. As we pulled out, there was an ominous bump.

Looking back, there lay poor Joshua ā€” who had followed me to work and hidden under the car ā€” painfully injured. I rushed him to the vet, and waited for the diagnosis...

I rushed him to the vet.

I rushed him to the vet...
Photo courtesy of David Mark and http://pixabay.com

Dogs are loyal, but need training and wise care.

They can also be very intelligent, but they lack language skills. Unless you have spent considerable time properly training your dog, you can't expect him to understand what you've said. However, if you take some proper advance measures, your dog can enjoy a pleasant day at home.

Tire him out before you leave.

Should you need to leave your dog home alone, tire him out first with some good exercise. Take him for a vigorous walk or run. Be certain that he's gotten all of his nervous energy worked out before you leave.

Be sure your dog is safely secured.

Although your dog will do what you train him to do, he has an overwhelming desire to be near you. Don't ever leave your dog alone in a situation that he could simply walk away from. If not properly confined, his instinct will cause him to try following you wherever you go.

Your house trained dog should of course also be allowed to do his business before being confined, but then he should be secured in the house, in a kennel or dog run, or on a properly sized leash to allow him adequate freedom of movement and access to shelter.

Avoid doggie boredom.

As they say, "idle paws are the devil's workshop." Whether left in the house for the day, or (in clement weather) left in a yard properly protected and restrained, be sure that your dog has some constructive options to hold his attention - for example, some chew toys, and perhaps a solid soup bone to gnaw on. Dogs have been found to be calmed by classical music, and so you may consider leaving some classics playing while you are gone.

Provide fresh water.

While your dog is not likely to starve while you are away for a reasonable period of time during the day or evening, you should be sure to provide an adequate supply of fresh, clean water. This is especially the case if your dog is outdoors, particularly in warmer weather.

Be generous with your time and affection.

When you do come home, show your pet that you are just as happy to see him as he is to see you. For me, one of the great blessings of having a dog has always been the joy he expresses when he greets me, both in the morning and when I return home.

Be generous with your time and affection...

Be generous with your time and affection...
Photo courtesy of skeeze and http://pixabay.com

That sad day forty-five years ago, the vet returned with a sobering verdict.

"Joshua's internal injuries will require extensive surgery."

With a young family to care for, I could not afford such a great expense. One choice remained.

When I recall my lack of foresight, I still weep for Joshua's pain and for the loss of what might have been a long and lovely friendship. How could I have expected him to understand "Stay at home?" Rest in peace, my dear friend!

Our dogs love us.

We need to exercise the utmost care and wisdom as we look out for their well-being. I hope you'll never have to deal with sorrow such as I brought upon poor Joshua and myself through my ignorant carelessness.


Postscript: It occurs to me that I should have included the following link for my animal-loving readers. The nicely formatted PDF document contains a topically arranged compilation of scriptures that my friend Amy published years ago.

The verses in this collection have been a great encouragement to me, personally, and also to many friends with whom I have shared it:

What Does the Bible Say About Animals?


Thanks for your time and attention.

I'm here on Steemit because of you, my readers. I wouldn't be here if it weren't for you!


I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about all of them.
Did you enjoy this post?

ā¬‡ļøPlease check out @creatr's world - CLICK each of the images belowā¬‡ļø

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Follow me, I'm @creatr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency