SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #7

[EN]


This post is intended to cover the server costs for SteemWorld.org and to enable me to continue my development in the future.

In case you missed the first part:
SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #1

[DE]


Dieser Post ist dafür gedacht die Serverkosten für SteemWorld.org zu decken und mir in Zukunft weitere Entwicklungen zu ermöglichen.

Falls du den ersten Teil verpasst haben solltest:
SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #1

Don't walk down non-existing stairs!


I'm a bit late with my 'weekly' post because I broke my left foot after drinking a bit too much and jumping into nothingness. Lesson learned, alcohol sucks. Resetting mind to previous state in progress...

As the markets do slowly come back to their real value and STEEM trades still below 1 USD, priorities regarding my development on SteemWorld have changed a bit. I'm glad that I didn't order any new servers as I had planned a few weeks ago because I would not be able to pay the bills without powering down much of my SP. Nevertheless I needed to power down again and my SP did not grow for weeks now. I should definitely post more...

I'm thinking about how to increase my earnings and maybe I should implement an own post editor on SteemWorld. I could add my account (or @steemworld.org) as beneficiary and take 5% or so from the authors using SteemWorld. Anyway, working on the client side is the only thing I currently can do because most planned features require at least one new server. What do you think?

Updates / New features


Amounts for incoming votes

The 'Account Operations' section now shows the $ amounts for incoming votes:


STEEM/SBD Conversion

We now have the STEEM conversion feature available in the 'Balances' tab. As stated in the dialog, it should only be used when SBD (median price) is trading below 1 USD.


Notification for invalid mentions

We now get informed when we added a link to a non-existing Steem account in our posts:


Sortable tables for delegations

After changing the default sort order to 'delegator, ascending', a few users contacted me because they liked the previous order by 'delegation time, descending' more. Now we can change it by clicking on the desired column header. A second click toggles the sort direction between ascending and descending:


Invalid hotlinks blocked

Some users do use a direct link (hotlink) to images on Pixabay (which is not allowed by their terms of use). To avoid making such requests I now show an own 'invalid hotlink' image. You should always download the desired images and upload them to a public image hoster (like Steemit's own steemitimages.com).


CSI experiments

I activated the CSI again and am going to watch the resulting values for a few weeks, before I will implement the calculation on the server side. It is not meant to be a rating for voting behaviour and I see it more as a freely interpretable voting score. The number will be higher for users who spread their votes to many other accounts. I won't publish any recommended values and leave the judgement to the people instead.

The weight of the given votes is also being considered. One self-vote with 100% + five 10% votes for other authors lead to a self-vote rate of 50%. The formula for calculation is the same for every account and it will be published in future.


Animation for account tooltips

The spinning arc is kind of a progress indicator and shows us when the account info will be loaded. New users, who didn't read my recent posts, can now see that there is something happening when they move the mouse over an account's name and therefore the function becomes a bit more self-explanatory:


Node details

I thought it would be a good idea to show which witnesses support the network by offering a (stable) public full node, therefore I added their account name here:

Isn't it funny...


Sometimes I get a nice comment like

Great work, man! You got my 100% upvote!

and I'm thinking

Yeah dude, now I'm finally gonna become rich :)

My eyes get bigger and I take a look at the amount of the enormous vote that must have hit me. Hmm, I can't see it yet, shows 0.00, maybe that monstrous amount caused a bug in my tool...

Reality hits me when I change the number of visible decimal places to '4' in the Settings tab. Wow, I can see it now and I was enriched by an incredible amount of $0.0001 ...^^ Steem's vote dust threshold will surely eat your gift before it can ever reach me, but... Thank you :)

Of course, me and many other Steemians have also been at that point in the early days and know exactly how it feels when the own vote does not yet leave a reasonable $ amount. Better times will come when we don't give up, participate in communities that share the own vision, write well-thought comments and trust the magic of our own dreams.

I assure you, losing 75% of the own vote's value because of STEEM making a deep dive reminds many of us today to how bad that feels ;)

Links


EN  |  What is SteemWorld?
-> Welcome to SteemWorld.org!

DE  |  Was ist SteemWorld?
-> Willkommen auf SteemWorld.org!

Thank you for supporting my work!


Positive thoughts create a positive world. It all begins with connecting our thoughts with emotions. We are the creators of our world.

Much Love,

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
195 Comments
Ecency