SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #13

[EN]


This post is intended to cover the server costs for SteemWorld.org and to enable me to continue my development in the future.

In case you missed the first part:
SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #1

[DE]


Dieser Post ist dafür gedacht die Serverkosten für SteemWorld.org zu decken und mir in Zukunft weitere Entwicklungen zu ermöglichen.

Falls du den ersten Teil verpasst haben solltest:
SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #1

We are back


Wow, the blockchain must have grown more than I expected. In my last post I mentioned that re-indexing all blocks would take a few hours, in fact it took my server more than 24 hours to go through all the mess and rebuild the databases. For me as a developer it is clear that we needed something like the resource credits to keep the chain running smoothly.

Since I would have been running out of space in the coming months, I needed to optimize a few more things regarding some heavy database indices. My indexed DBs are now half the size they have been before and there seem to be no measureable performance differences on SteemWorld. Multi-column indices are super fast and I would not go without them, but SSD space has it's limits.

With the additional available disk space I may be able to re-index in a backup path from now on (as originally planned), so that SteemWorld will no longer be affected in times of a full chain replay.

Updates


Key Generator

There is a new tool for generating account keys to be found in Tools:

When typing in an account name and master password, the resulting private and public keys are being calculated and displayed in the table below the form:

Of course, the displayed keys are not the real ones for my account ;)

As I anyway need a random master key generator for the coming Account Creator, I added a button 'Generate Random' in here as well. The keys are being generated in the same way as in the registration process on Steemit.

Claiming Accounts

It is now possible to claim accounts in the Account Creator tool. The amount of pending claimed accounts is being shown at the top:

Creating the claimed accounts will be available soon. Of course, if you have enough SP (currently ~ 5000), you can already claim accounts for later use. Keep in mind that this may take a huge part of your available RCs away.

In the making


  • Account Creator
  • Web service for loading the data in a more efficient way
  • Different views in the Posts Overview
  • Improved Coming Curation Rewards overview
  • RC costs calculation

Links


EN  |  What is SteemWorld?
-> Welcome to SteemWorld.org!

DE  |  Was ist SteemWorld?
-> Willkommen auf SteemWorld.org!

Thank you for supporting my work!


Positive thoughts create a positive world. It all begins with connecting our thoughts with emotions. What we focus on is what becomes powerful. We are the creators of our world.

Much love,

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
84 Comments
Ecency