SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #11

[EN]


This post is intended to cover the server costs for SteemWorld.org and to enable me to continue my development in the future.

In case you missed the first part:
SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #1

[DE]


Dieser Post ist dafür gedacht die Serverkosten für SteemWorld.org zu decken und mir in Zukunft weitere Entwicklungen zu ermöglichen.

Falls du den ersten Teil verpasst haben solltest:
SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #1

One step forward, two steps back...


As always, it was a very busy week for me. In parallel to implementing the new Block Explorer I fixed a few bugs in my RC calculation logic and changed all API requests on the client and server side to use the new Condenser API. It's a bit disappointing to see that the available Steem JS Library is still a few weeks behind the important changes made in HF20.

Lesson learned: Build your own solution whenever it is possible or you will have to rely on others. Changing all my code to use DSteem instead would take too long and I want to make progress here. But I'm glad about what I have accomplished and as we know: Inspiration is important, but most important experience comes from 'learning by doing'...

Block Explorer now available


  • Transactions, same layout as in Account Operations:

  • Virtual Operations in a separate tab:

The reputation next to the account names is only being shown for already (on SteemWorld) cached accounts. I'm not sure, if I will change that in future, because it would require a huge amount of 'get_account' requests for larger blocks.

  • Exporting blocks and virtual operations as JSON:

  • Account Operations: A click on the transaction id or block number opens the Block Explorer in a popup and automatically filters the displayed data:

  • The same goes for virtual ops:

  • There is also a field for filtering the transactions of the opened block by text:

  • Additional information for each transaction can be shown by clicking on the icon in the right:

  • It is also possible to open the Block Explorer directly from an external link:
    https://steemworld.org/block/[block_num] or
    https://steemworld.org/block/[block_num]/[trx_id]

  • Holding Ctrl while clicking on a block number or transaction id on SteemWorld will also open it in a new tab ;)

In the making


Improving the account refresh logic

Since the RPC nodes do no longer synchronize/return the account history and main account data in real time, I need to think about building and implementing a better solution. Maybe I can parse and store all blockchain data on one of my servers without having to rely on public node requests from the clients in future. I already do parse all blocks for some features on SteemWorld, but I do not have a solution for the account history yet. Would be great to store also the virtual operations, because that would enable me to have kind of a public node for my services without having to fulfil the huge hardware requirements for running a full steemd instance.

I will take a look at Steemit's SBDS (Steem Blockchain Data Service), because I think it could be capable of exactly what I need. I prefer to work with SQLite as it is really fast on SSD and requires no additional database service working in background. As I stated before, in my opinion it would be possible to deploy kind of an own Full-API Service on a 16 GB RAM machine with enough SSD memory available. That would be much cheaper than running steemd and is the only solution I can think of given my current monthly earnings.

Improving the Recent Posts Overview

Still not there, but I'm on my way...

  • Implementing different views (list, miniature, date) and a possibility to find / navigate to older posts in a more comfortable way.

  • Search feature for older posts.

RC costs calculation

  • Display the number of available votes, comments, etc.

Links


EN  |  What is SteemWorld?
-> Welcome to SteemWorld.org!

DE  |  Was ist SteemWorld?
-> Willkommen auf SteemWorld.org!

Thank you for supporting my work!


Positive thoughts create a positive world. It all begins with connecting our thoughts with emotions. What we focus on is what becomes powerful. We are the creators of our world.

Much Love,

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
109 Comments
Ecency