STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #42 : MOROCCAN BATBOUT

Hello everyone!

This is the first time I am participating in the Steemit Culinary Challenge! I knew about this contest for some time now as my husband is a frequent contestant! As this week he will not be participating due to time constraint, therefore I took this opportunity and try it for the first time!

Steemit Culinary Challenge is an amazing cooking contest with different theme each week! This contest is orchestrated by @woman-onthe-wing and it is already to it's 42nd round! This week the theme is BREAD and the guest judge the wonderful @jaymorebeet who is actually a master in bread making!

I eat a lot of bread and bread forms an important part in the eating habits of all Moroccans! I cook my own bread nearly every day and one that I love a lot is the Moroccan Batbout! I have used Batbout many times before to create some amazing sandwiches but I have never shown how to make it!

So let's follow me and i'll show you how to make this easy and yummy bread!

MOROCCAN BATBOUT
DSC_0073.JPG


You simply need the following to make them(6 breads) :

  • Flour 500gms
  • Salt 1 tsp
  • Yeast 1tbsp
  • Semolina 15gms
  • Warm water

DSC_0057.JPG


Make the dough with the flour, salt, yeast and water, till you get a soft bread dough! Sprinkle with little semolina.

DSC_0060.JPG


Make 6 small balls from the dough! Put them on a tray where you again put some semolina!

DSC_0061.JPG


Using your messy hand, press the balls to the below form!

DSC_0063.JPG

DSC_0062.JPG


Put them back on the tray and cover.
Let it sit for approx. 1 hour.

DSC_0066.JPG


After 1 hour, heat a pan and start cooking your batbouts directly on the hot pan! Don't add anything on the pan!

DSC_0068.JPG


Each 30 seconds turn the batbout on the other side! You will see how it develops...

DSC_0070.JPG


After couple of minutes, the batbout will inflate like a pillow and you know it's ready!

DSC_0072.JPG


DSC_0074.JPG


One of the rule of the contest is to show how it looks in the inside!

Here it is!

DSC_0092.JPG


A very soft bread which you can keep for several days in the fridge!

What is great with batbout is that you already get it open like that, not need to cut to stuff it!

DSC_0093.JPG


So here you are with my entry to this amazing contest! I hope you enjoyed the recipe and will try it too!

Please do comment below if you want some more info!

Should you like the post, kindly upvote and resteem!

Thank you!
@creativewoman

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency