The STEEMIT User Interface - Some Comments, and A Feature Request

"The way we communicate with others and with ourselves ultimately determines the quality of our lives."
- Tony Robbins -

A significant Steemit "feature" became suddenly clear today.

I have been missing important comments under my articles.

Table of Contents

Communication: A Quality of Life Issue
Image courtesy of Pavan Trikutam and http://unsplash.com

Users are also misdirecting their comments.

Table of Contents
User Menu "Replies" Tab
Screen capture by @creatr

I had noticed this a few times before, but it was driven home to me today when I had my nose rubbed in it.

My general practice has been to visit my "Replies" queue from the Steemit drop-down menu. (See illustration to the right.) However, (don't say it - I'm a little slow at times!) I've recently come to more strongly realize that only the direct parent of a "Reply" has that reply placed in their "Replies" queue.

Perhaps this has happened to you also?

You go back to an article you wrote, maybe days or weeks later, and discover that someone left a very thoughtful comment. You would have liked to respond to their comment in a more timely fashion.

Maybe the commenter thought they were addressing you, or your article. Possibly, they didn't. In either case, the comment was at the very least indirectly the result of your article, and you're sorry you missed it!

Table of Contents
Replies "Sort Order" Option
Screen capture by @creatr

What am I going to do about this?

Maybe you're brighter than I am, and have been handling this well all along.

Speaking for my (sometimes dim) self, I plan to depend a little less on my "Reply" stream, and start simply opening my recent articles and putting the Replies in "Sort Order: age" as illustrated here to the left... Then I should be able to scroll down the list and see any replies that I may have missed.

Now for my Feature Request:

May it please the "Steemit Powers that Be" to put this in the "It would be nice" category.

It would be nice if authors were notified, or had an option to be notified, every time a new "Reply" is added under their article, whether or not it was in direct response to the article or the author.

It would also be nice if, as an author, I had some kind of check-box to note for myself that I had seen and made a "response decision" to that particular Reply. And/or perhaps, some way to "tag" a Reply as a reminder that I want to go back later when I have time to write a more thorough response.

As a stopgap measure, I have tended to vote for all of my replies at a low percentage, just to have an easily visible record that I've seen them. Sometimes I want to actually "Reply" to the reply; sometimes I just want to ignore it. Sometimes I want to vote for it. In all cases, I would like to know that a "Reply" has been left under my article, whether or not it was directed squarely at me.

What do you think?

I'd love to hear your ideas about how to improve our ability to interact and communicate here on Steemit.


Visit my Library Steemit Shelf for more Steemit articles.


Table of Contents


FIN

LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
>>CLICK HERE!<<


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency