🆘I'm Still Jonesing For That "Edit" Button! - Please???🆘

Today's Appeal to the Lords of Steem...

"The ultimate court of appeal is observation and experiment... not authority." - Thomas Huxley

I don't run Steemit,

nor do I exercise any sway over the hard forks and the roadmap. (Thank goodness! 😉)

However, I am a fairly prolific content creator, and I have an agenda of my own that I hope to implement within the confines and promise of the Steemit blockchain and its nominal user interface.

Straight from the horses' mouth, I've been led to believe that it is my contributions to Steemit, (along with, of course, all content creators), that provide the Steem Economy with it's ultimate value:

"Authors are the source of the content that drives the site and the platform, generating the attention that provides the ultimate value to the Steem Economy." - 2017 Roadmap

I never make mistakes, Right? Ummm...

I never make mistakes, Right? Ummm...
Photo courtesy of Bench Accounting and http://unsplash.com

And so, I had waited for HF17 with considerable anticipation.

No, I wasn't particularly concerned about reward pool distribution, removing comment nesting, etc. I did of course appreciate the incremental underlying technical improvements, such as "Separation of Blockchain Logic from Interface Requirements" and so on and so forth, even though they are less visibly obvious from the user perspective.

However, I really wanted one promised feature...

Above all else, I was waiting for the promised ability to edit posts beyond the arbitrary one-month "expiration" date.

"Allow Editing of any Past Post or Comment"


"We propose removing the restriction on editing of past posts. It is a user-interface responsibility to show revision history and enable restoration of unintentional changes made by compromised accounts."
- Steem 0.17 Change Proposal Introduction

Now approaching a month later,

considerably past the introduction of HF17, and I am still looking for that "Edit" button at the bottom of my older articles. I've asked for this repeatedly in various venues, and been told that there is now no "hard" barrier to doing this - that it's a User Interface (UI) thing.

Yet, here we are looking down the barrel of HF19, and I'm still waiting for access to the promise of HF17.

Please consider this a respectful appeal...

Please don't think I don't appreciate the work and effort invested into the Steemit platform and code. Please don't misunderstand this as lack of appreciation for new features like "drag and drop" photo uploads and so forth. Developers and founders, I appreciate all your hard work.

However, although I haven't gone mucking around the innards of the Steemit UI, I am a lifelong coder myself. I think I would be quite shocked and surprised if "implementing" the ability to edit older posts were more than removing a tiny conditional code block that presently prevents the "Reply" and "Edit" links from appearing at the bottom of articles older than 30-odd days?

Would someone handling the daily releases please take a minute to do that?
Please? Pretty please?

I really want to be able to edit older posts as needed.

To whomever can make this happen:

Thank you in advance,

from the bottom of my heart.

I have my reasons. (Yes, feel free to ask.)


FIN


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency