Splinterlands is rocking it | How to be smart about my semi-modest collection?

Well, hello Splinterlands! You've been good to me!

A recent airdrop from @splinterlands in the form of SPS tokens and an updated @peakmonsters rental market update, I've been playing around with my Splinterlands collection a bit more than I've done in the past few months, and checking into splinterlands.com almost daily to claim and stake new tokens.

In the past 18 days I've been collecting almost 1500 SPS, which actually currently is worth more than 450$, quite a nice amount of money for an airdrop, right?

Screenshot 2021-08-13 at 13.46.38.png

What happened is:
Owning cards, card packs, DEC, plots and other @splinterlands assets earns you Airdrop Points, and these Airdrop Points then turn into a daily (!) SPS Airdrop for a full year.

You can stake the SPS tokens (4 week unstaking period), currently earning me a 272% APR. So daily, I have this huge compounding opportunity: claim and stake my daily airdrop, claim and stake the 'APR', and come back the next day to claim an airdrop that now is being calculated from a bigger Collection Power than the day before, and so on.

And that's not all

Meanwhile, I can grow not only my SPS, I can also grow my DEC (Dark Energy Crystals) which add up to my collection power as well - crazy!

As a non-player and only casual buyer of some Alpha and Beta cards, I did already rent out some cards through the 'V1' rental market on @peakmonsters, but since they came with an update I decided to stop renting out all cards through the old system and move to the new system.

These rentals earn my DEC, and so while my DEC is passively growing so is my collection power and therefore so is my opportunity to claim new SPS tokens.

It's kind of baffling how powerful this is...

Now, this airdrop is going to be taking 365 days (!) and I'm very curious to see how this evolves. Will the price stay stable as there's a huge compounding effect coming from not selling but staking the coins?

Not sure yet how to be smart about this but...

I've been thinking about selling a portion of my cards, as my collection has only become more valuable over the years, and nothing ever only goes up, right?

But on the other hand... This Airdrop is kind of smart and it might be wise to at least keep compounding my assets and airdrop for at least half a year, after which I can evaluate again - is the interest in the daily airdrop going to wear off or are people only starting to realize the airdrop will get scarcer in the next few months, driving up the price of assets?

Just some proud thoughts

Well, it's no secret I haven't been as active on Hive as I've been in the past, all for good reasons though, but Splinterlands definitely made me realize how lucky I've been to be an early bird, both on Hive and on the Splinterlands game - I just casually bought some packs and really never sold anything. Maybe the best thing I've never sold in my life :-)

I really love the stable growth and expansions I've seen happening in and around the game - from having new collections, to whole new assets, to expanding and reaching out to other crypto platforms, which makes for mutual benefits and adds to a more stable player base for the game - I'm super proud of the Team behind this game and can only see them keep surprising us more and more.

How about you?

What's your experience with the Splinterlands airdrop if you have any? What would you do if you had my collection and could make decisions about it?

Curious to hear your thoughts, and play (or rent and compound ;-)) on!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
50 Comments
Ecency