How-to Play the Sims: Cottage Living Technical Difficulties

Sims house.jpg


sim_you_life_div.png


Hello! Welcome to How-to Play the Sims! In previous posts I have been playing the Cottage Living game pack of the Sims 4 in which my Sims live off the land, tend animals, and rub elbows with the local cow folk.

A lot has changed in the Sims since I have played, especially the building. I know I'm Simgirl and I should know all things Sims, but life happens outside the game.

So what I did was put my Sim's game on pause, went to the main screen, picked the empty land plot next to my Sim and began building the house for my Sim, her animals, and the butler.

I placed the barn and the chicken coop first and designed the back yard before I began building the house. It was nice but I noticed as I was building that something wasn't right.


sim_you_life_div.png


House 2.jpg


sim_you_life_div.png


Normally when I build a house in the Sims I start using the wall tools, design the entire house, and then add the platforms for the porches. So that is what I did.

But I noticed when I was adding the doors that there was a gap between the doors and the porch. I thought maybe it was just the door, so I switched out the doors.

Each of the doors did the same thing. I thought I could fix it by adding some stairs, but that did not work.

When I added the roof, there was also a gap. I'm like what the hell.

So I decided to chuck the entire project. I bulldozed the land and started over.


sim_you_life_div.png


House3.jpg


sim_you_life_div.png


For my second attempt I began building the house with the platforms. I placed a platform on the ground made a basic square and the pulled the walls as I added them inside the house.

Once I finished pulling and placing walls, I added the doors and windows. (All from the Cottage Living pack.)

This time when I clicked on the walls I noticed a yellow highlight on top of the building. I clicked to see what it did and it gave me an option to add a ceiling.

Ceilings go way back to when we first started building with the Sims. I didn't remember having to add a ceiling when I previously played, so I thought ok maybe now the roof will fit.

I'm still not sure if the roof is on right or not, but I was getting tired of building and decided just to move my Sim into the house and see what happens.


sim_you_life_div.png


house 4.jpg


sim_you_life_div.png


So that's what I did, and is about all the further I got in the game.

I kept all the furniture from the other houses, so when she moved in she has like 100 pieces of furniture, mostly arm chairs...

I used as much of the furniture I could fit in the house, set up the barns and the chicken coops. I guess I took them too!

Then I added a pool just because I could.

I will need to catch up on my reading to see all the changes they have made in building mode. But I did catch one of the updates for the building items that was very cool.

Check out, Update 9/21/2021 to see al the new colors added to the building collections.

I will try my best to continue the Cottage Living and write about my experiences in my next How-to Play the Sims post...

Until then,

Happy Gaming

~simgirl


sim_you_life_div.png


image.png


sim_you_life_div.png


For More How- to-Play the Sims
@simgirl

How to Play the Sims: Cottage Living, Simple Living

How to Play the Sims: Cottage Living, Volpe Park

How to Play the Sims: Cottage Living, Running Errands, Moving Critters, and Foxes

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency