How to Play the Sims: Cottage Living, Running Errands, Moving Critters, and Foxes

Moving.jpg


sim_you_life_div.png


Welcome back to How-to Play the Sims! I am continuing the cottage Living challenge which includes the simple living lot. Simple Living encourages you to live off the land by growing and harvesting food and resources needed to cook.

I am on the second level of the Country care-taker quest. I have befriended my Llama, and fertilized three oversized crops. All that is left is to place one wild or wild flock of birds onto the lot.

At the end of my playing time, I did decide to move from The Bramble Woods to Old New Henford, to a more modern lot. But I will not stay there long, I already have ideas to create my own farm. The new house had a barn, but not a chicken coop, so I had to add one.

More of that to come.


sim_you_life_div.png


Dreams.jpg


sim_you_life_div.png


I did venture to Finchwick to the pub to find an important local to "help". After talking to a few people, I found the mayor of the town. She is the lady in the hat...

The mayor sent me on a wild goose chase, but did reward me for my time and effort. The mayor had two choices to pick from, and I choose Welcome to Henford-on-Bagley: A friendly visit.

Once you accept an errand, you can find the details of the quest by clicking on your professional tab. From there you can mouse over the titles to read more details.

For the Welcome Challenge I had to catch a fish in Old New Henford's lake, browse the garden or grocery shop in Finchwick, and ask the delivery person about their dreams...

The reward was an assortment of berries some brown llama wool, and animal treats.

I met the Mayor in town to reveal the delivery person's dreams, and complete the quest. From there she sent me to The Bramble Woods to seek out the Creature Keeper to get more errands.


sim_you_life_div.png


chicken fox.jpg


sim_you_life_div.png


Earlier that day I learned how to name the animals. If you click on the animal there is an option to give them a name. I hadn't bothered with it before.

I also discovered if you cursor over the animal the age happiness, hygiene, hunger, and attention bars will appear above them. This way your Sim will know their animal's needs.

I named my Llama Jolly, so I decided it was time to name the chickens.

When you click the option to give the animals a name, they will provide you with a random name and then you can choose to change the name. I choose to keep the names since they were all good names.

The three white chickens I have I named Matilda, Clara, and Alice. I named the white rooster Eggie.

That night I was visited by a fox. I hid my hens and my eggs like the notification said to do, but the fox still had his way with my chickens.

I named him Spice Hawkins. I shooed him away, and hope he doesn't return any time soon.


sim_you_life_div.png


Selfies.jpg


sim_you_life_div.png


While on my adventures, I was able to get some good selfies of my Sims. This Cottage Living Sims 4 expansion has beautiful landscaping and outdoor scenery.

Since I was sent to the catch a fish in the Emerald Green lake in Old New Henford and my Sim didn't have any fishing skills, it took me two days to catch the fish.

The first day it was getting too dark to fish, so I had to give her a rest and go out the next day. There is not any public lands in Old New Henford, therefore I needed to transport to the premade lot and have my Sim walk to the lake.

It was doing this that I decided I like the house by the lake enough to move my Sim into it. Also I had decided to hire all the help I could which included hiring a butler, and I forgot they need their own room to sleep in.

The little cottage my Sim was living in was too small to home the butler, so moving to a bigger house just made sense.


sim_you_life_div.png


new house.jpg


sim_you_life_div.png


When moving in Cottage Living, you are able to move your critters along with all your furnishings. This house had a barn like I said, so to home Jolly, all I need to do was assign the barn to him.

I had to build my own chicken coop and I wasn't completely happy with the design of the chicken-proof fencing.

By that time I was tired from playing, and decided to save the game there. I didn't even go inside to see what the house looked like...

My Sim was also able to keep their over-sized crops. All I did was take them out of my Sim's inventory and place them in the garden plots.

To see your Sim's inventory after moving, open the build mode and you will see a moving crate on the left bottom corner of the screen. All of your furnishings from the first house will be stored there.

You can then drag the furnishings into the new house, or you can sell the items from there. If you take your furnishings from every house, your inventory will be filled with lots of stuff.

I do not think I will even live in this house, so next time I play my game, I will be building a farm house on one of the empty lots.

I will keep you informed of my progression...

Until then,

Happy Gaming

~Sim Girl


sim_you_life_div.png


image.png


sim_you_life_div.png


How to Play the Sims: Cottage Living, Simple Living

How to Play the Sims: Cottage Living, Volpe Park


sim_you_life_div.png


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency