Share My World: 4 words for Florence, Italy

Our Sibling Trip was off to a great start. After spending the afternoon in Venice we drove Florence, Italy.


I had been to Florence in college as part of tour of Europe and I was so very excited to get back to this amazing city.

What are the 4 words I would use to describe my time in Florence?

Airbnb, Art, Architecture and Gelato

Airbnb

We got a seriously cute Airbnb just across the river from the city.

I was in charge of the accommodations for the trip and asked my brother and sister if they would like to splurge for this cute place.

I have good memories of sitting around with my siblings eating breakfast we had picked up at a local grocery store. One of my favorite memories is waking up around 9am the morning after our walking tour of Florence and realizing that my brother was really worried about me. He had asked my sister if I was still alive. I am such an early riser that he wonder what happened to me. Yes, me sleeping till 9am is a cause for concern! I guess my body needed to rest after the 33,449 steps or 14.25 miles that day!


Art

One of my favorite times for art is the Italian Renaissance. Here are a few art highlights. I am going to do a more detailed post on the walking tour of Florence which included a lot of art.

I have read The Agony and Ecstasy many times and am a enormous fan of Michelangelo.

Here are both Michelangelo's slaves and The David. Seeing the slaves emerging from the stone and then coming to stand in front of the David and seeing the precision and detail is a powerful experience.

The Rape of the Sabine Women by Giambologna is a piece of art that I am so happy I discovered this trip to Florence.

Original completed in 1582 in the Galleria dell'Accademia


A copy outside in the Loggia dei Lanzi


The Gates of Paradise by Lorenzo Ghiberti are a masterpiece! They were created between 1425 and 1452 and are the east doors for the Florence Baptistry.


Video of The Gates of Paradise.

Another DSLR video. I was getting some good practice at shooting videos with my camera. It is so easy to shot with my cell phone. The quality is so much better with my Canon and I want to get better at it.

I am so amazed at this level of detail in each of the panels on the doors.

Architecture

The architecture in Florence is all over and makes my heart happy. Taking pictures with my brother at night of the city was a special treat.


The Ponte Vechio or Old Bridge at night (above) and during the day (below)
It is 30 meter or 98 feet long and crosses the Arno River. It was first built in 996 and reconstructed in 1117 after a flood destroyed it. Another flood destroyed it in 1333 and it was rebuilt in 1345. 1 So it is a very old bridge.


Gelato

Even for a quick trip I had a couple gelatos in Florence. The Gelateria was very close to our Airbnb and it was fun to meet some other fellow travelers. I would have to say that it was the most sugary of the gelatos that I had on the trip.


It was a wonderful stay in Florence and so fun to share it with my brother and sister.

Share My World Series

2018
All the 2018 post are here My Year Journey on Steem

2019
Share My World: Sweet Sacred Experience
Share My World: Red Rock Scenic Byway
Share My World: Grand Canyon in the Snow
Share My World: Grief and General Conference Weekend
Share My World: Grief and Grieving
Share My World: Nebo Loop drive
All Kenya Posts are here Share My World: Memories around the fire
Share My World: 3 years
Share My World: Sibling trip
Share My World: Venice, Italy: Part 1
Share My World: Venice, Italy: Part 2

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency