Secrets of Organ Playing CHALLENGE Week 145 submission--Voluntary II from Trois Voluntaries pour Orgue by Denis Bedard

Today's work is by the Canadian composer Denis Bedard. I encountered his music in recordings by James Flores (@contrabourdon). So, I ordered several works of his and I received them last week. I started on his Variations on St. Benedict, but also got into his three Voluntaries. I will try to post recordings of them as I get them learned. This voluntary is the slowest of the three and is in ternary (ABA) form. The opening A section features a 8' reed (I used a 4'Clarion sounding down an octave) over a soft Bourdon 8' and Nachthorn 4'. In the pedal, you hear a Subbass 16' and Bourdon 8'. The B section is repeated--the first time you hear it, I continued to use the Bourdon 8' and Nachthorn 4' over the pedals. The repeat changes to a 8' string (Viole 8') and Viole Celeste 8' providing a shimmering sound on the second hearing. The featured reed comes back in the return of the A section. I hope you enjoy it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency