When in lockdown, cook some steaks!

20200507_223645.jpg

As a South African I have always loved a good BBQ outside, a Braai as we call it. Sadly though, I don't Braai anymore since I moved to Korea. Since we all live in apartments and it is a little out of the question. Beef is also not the cheapest here in Korea, but I can say the quality of Korean beef is insane. Although you will never really cook up large steaks. Most restaurants just serve thin strips that you can cook yourself Korean BBQ style. That is all great but I missed cooking a proper steak with good seasoning. With some American steak being on sale I thought I had to give it another go! Thus, my lovely love bought me a cast-iron skillet. Many youtube videos later on how to cook a proper steak on a skillet.

I have cooked maybe 5 steaks so far and there have been some mistakes made but for now, I think I have it down and pretty much just have to practice a little more. Last night I prepared two nice and thick steaks. They came out medium-rare to medium even though I was aiming for a good juicy medium-rare. Overall I think they came out amazing and will definitely get that perfect medium-rare on the next cook.

20200507_221846.jpg

Used some paper towels to tap them dry and get all the extra moisture off. Then seasoned all of it with salt and pepper.

20200507_222650.jpg

After preheating the skillet I got it nice and hot, added a touch of oil, and heard the lovely sizzle after placing the steaks in. One minute on each side to get a nice crust.

20200507_223302.jpg

Near the end, I added some crushed garlic cloves, salted butter, and rosemary. Baste the steak for about a minute and then it was time for it to rest.

20200507_224115.jpg

20200507_224258.jpg

I would have liked it a little less cooked but it came out extremely tasty!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency