The buildings of Cappadocia

Not my usual photo theme, but since this week's @qurator's Photo Quest theme is Architectural and I haven't joined for a few weeks, I digged my photo archive to join the fun. And remembered a beautiful country that I visited three years ago: Turkey!


The region of Cappadocia has rock formations that seem from a different planet. And given the region's landscape, there is some really cool rock-cut architecture all around!

tu1.jpg

In the city of Goreme, there are pretty modern hotels carved in the rocks, taking advantage of the natural surroundings. But these buildings, from ancient times, are a lot more fascinating.

u2.jpg

In Goremé National Park, there are well preserved buildings, what remains of old civilizations that inhabited the region centuries ago.

u3.jpg

There are even underground buildings! Unfortunately I haven't visited none, but given what can be found above the ground, I can say I had more than enought to enjoy the trip to this part of the country!

36.jpg

rgazlbwpwi.png

Hive divider by doze.gif

Still haven't joined Splinterlands? In what planet do you live in? Click the banner below and join the fun! (It has my referral link; you can go directly to the website if you don't want to use it; either way... join in! 😎 )

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency