Senstless Family 2021 Summer Road Trip Day 2 - Driving from Sandusky Ohio to Kitty Hawke - Outer Banks NC

This is by Far the biggest road trip we have taken!!!

I know this happened months ago, but I am finally able back to blogging and decided this would be a fun one to revisit and share. We did a 10 day road trip - and drove over 3000 miles!! We had a ton of fun and did something new everyday.

Bad news is I some how lost my log book for the trip that tracked times, miles and gallons of gas bought. Oh well. I do have the financial break down. Even with driving, free hotels, and not eating out.... I still don't want to revisit the carnage of spending.

Day 2 - Driving to the Outer Banks - Kitty Hawk

image.png

You thought yesterday was early... today was even earlier. We set an alarm, but knowing I had a drive ahead of me, I didn't sleep that well. If you look back through my posts, you can see I was trying to give up coffee remember that @silvertop ? What was all a plan to allow me to use concentrated cold brew coffee to help on this drive. A few sip here and there on ice would let me keep the wheels turning and the gas burning.

  • Start time 4:00 am
  • Miles 678
  • Drive Time 12hr

First off - lets clear this up.. even with all the traffic, we did it in 12 hours. We had 2 stops all day... that's right 2 stops until we hit the hotel. Told the kids to make sure not to drink much.. and they were amazing. I swear I was afraid I would be driving into the night if they had to stop too often. Every 4.5 hours the truck would get close to E and we would refresh and reload on the gas stations treats and hit the road again. This was another day of eating all the meals while driving down the road. Pop tarts, cereal, chips, summer sausage and cheese, granola bars, etc.

We didn't start driving at 4... but I woke up at 4 before my alarm that was set for 430.. decided that I would just get up, and get an early start since I was awake. Loaded the fam in the truck and started rolling down the road. It was just me and my audio book while the rest of the clan slept.

The day was interesting, kids saw a lot out the window... went through a ton of states... and got tired of sitting in the car!!

Best part was it rained most of the day, so we didnt even miss any good weather! crazy part.... as I look through my phone looking for any photos, It appears I have one... went we finally got the hotel and the beach. One photo all day is sad for vacation... but I guess I was the one driving.

Kitty Hawk

image.png

We chose to stay at Kitty Hawk. When I was looking at the maps it appeared to be the best option to get as far north as we good, away from the crazy commercial side and still get some beach access. We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn. Best part is they had their own Pier, and while it wasn't a private beach, it basically was. With only the one small hotel and the rest of the houses appear to be either family owned or some Air BNB - the beach was sparsely populated.

The sand was course, and hard to walk on. The surf bigger here than further south like Nags Head. Here is my one photo of the beach when we got there in early evening on day 2.

image.png

Total Trip View

Day 1 - Drive to Sandusky

  • 575 Miles
  • 9 Hrs

Day 2 - Drive to Kitty Hawk

  • 678 Miles
  • 12 Hrs

Vacation Stats

  • Total Miles - 1253
  • Total Time Driving - 21 Hrs

image.png

###Day 3 Sneak Peak... NO DRIVING...
Ok, I drove, but we stayed at the same hotel. It was all just around the area to do fun stuff!! Next post will actually get into the stuff we did!!

~~ Thanks for stopping by @senstless

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency