Tracking Back To Childhood Memories

Attic Snap.png

A Thousand Years Ago...

As a young kid, I grew up loving model trains. I think it started with Santa giving me a small tiny train set under the Christmas Tree one year. Soon, though, this love of model trains grew. Anyone ever hooked on it, knows what I mean.

IN School, I spent my time and money on this hobby! I spent spare money, allowance, anything I earned on it. It grew from a tiny little loop around the tree, to a large layout, (modeled above) taking over 1/2 of my parents attic.

The main train table (called benchwork) was a 5ft x 9ft (150 cm x 275cm), with an additional 4ft x 8ft (120cm x 240cm) table, a 4ft x 4ft (120cm x 120cm) plus other odds added.

There were loops, mountains, yard work, houses, lighting, trees and more. I actually spent more time modeling than actually running the trains.

Perhaps it's nostalgia and filling something missing? Maybe a sadness, who knows? I'm no Freud.

Restless Old Mansy

There's a certain troublesome Hivian we all know, who enjoys calling me an OLD MANSY! I won't bother you with naming HER, but let's just say, her name sounds an awful lot like @dreemsteem

True to the Nickname of Old Mansy, I've been missing my old hobby. I was recently visiting my Uncle and Aunt and found that he's set up his OLD LIONEL Train Model in the basement. Naturally, that got me to thinking of my old HO Scale Model shown above.


I've had RailModellerPro on my laptop, and play around wiht some layouts here and there. I've gone so far as earlier this spring, to print out the track parts list of one of my set layouts:

Screen Shot 2021-09-01 at 8.57.05 PM.png

For kicks, I decided, hmmm, let me go online and see what it would cost to set up a small 4ft x 6ft layout... like this:

Office Snap.png

Screen Shot 2021-08-31 at 8.51.50 PM.png

Above My modelling program allows me to get a little look at 3D views of the track plan. Basically, a couple of loop plans, one with an industrial spur going into a mountain top, one tunneling under another mountain, and an industrial switching yard.

I'll plan lots of scenery, a waterfall, trees, ground cover, and more. Oh, and future expansion. The layout will be on foam boards, so very light, and easily expandable.

The Foundation

Well, over the next week or so, the parts are coming to the house. As any good modeller knows, the final touches are less important than the foundation.A good base needs careful planning. A quick trip to the Home Improvement Hardware store, and I ended up with this mess in my office:

IMG_9807.JPG

After a few more days, things are starting to look more like this:

IMG_3580.JPG

You can see the base foundation for the mountains and valleys coming through.
Once the track shows up, I will set up the sample layout, mark it on the foam base, and then, make the base more structurally sound.

Stay Tuned... more posts will follow, with updates and progress to come...


Bluefin Studios


Get your OWN BADGES, at HIVE BUZZ


Bluefin Studios is a photographer, specializing in wildlife, nature, landscapes, waterfalls and Lighthouses!

Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.png

1000 posts.png5000.pngpayout.png
postallweek.pngchristmas2018.pngpostallmonth.png
7250.png100000.png115000.png
birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency