Sprawling Spaghetti Squash Surprise

IMG_1266.JPG

Short Garden Update!

We've had a LOT of rains, these past 8 days, so, this is a short garden update! This morning, I found the Spaghetti Squash sprawling along the top of my garden fencing.

The top vine of one of the four plants for my Spaghetti Squash shot out in a series of three more Squash. One, (pictured below the window above) may end up being sterile, that is, Not Fertilized. It looks like the bloom is off the little budding fruit, and it is difficult to tell if it had enough time while open to get pollinated. The other two have their blooms still attached, though not yet opened.

Below There seem to be many more blossoms already opening on other Spaghetti Squash plants. For those who are not familiar, Spaghetti Squash are named for the well known pasta. when you harvest the squash, slice it down the middle, lengthwise, and bake in the oven with a little olive oil. When oven roasted, take a fork, and "spin" inside the stringy flesh of the squash. The flesh comes out, as if you are twirling a fork in a bowl of long thin spaghetti. It makes a wonderful meal by itself topped with some pasta sauce, or can be served alongside other main courses as a side dish.

IMG_1267.JPG

IMG_1269.JPG

Above I spent only a brief amount of time outside this morning, but, I can see a few nice blossoms on one of my Cucumber plants. I can where many more will be coming soon, on this and the other cucumber.

Below The Purple Cherokee Tomato are growing larger!

IMG_1270.JPG

IMG_1268.JPG

Above Sometime this weekend, I will be picking fresh Sweetie 100 Cherry Tomato!

I started all this, back in the deep parts of February, when the snows outside were blowing, and the temperatures were below Freezing! Sometimes, it is hard when it is cold, snowy, and the days are really short and darkness comes mid afternoon. It's hard seeing the garden in bloom in February. It's hard knowing what it feels like, to pick fresh food only a few steps form my back door. But, days like today? ALWAYS feel good.

I love feeding my family fresh, home nurtured food,
grown from my own hands, with love!

Bluefin Studios


Get your OWN BADGES, at HIVE BUZZ


Bluefin Studios is a photographer, specializing in wildlife, nature, landscapes, waterfalls and Lighthouses!

Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.



@bluefinstudios/dinner-and-more

Previous Grovid 21 Posts:

Dinner and More... Dinner, and More...
Potato Harvest One. Potato Harvest One
Cherry Cherry, Bo Berry Cherry Cherry, Bo Berry!
Almost Ripe, Almost Tasty Amost Ripe, Almost Tasty!
I Grow, Therefore I Am I Grow, Therefore I Am
Lettuce Look! Lettuce Look At The Garden
Vegetable Garden Vegetable Garden Video Tour
Plants and Flowers VIDEO TOUR Plants and Flowers Video Tour
Quick Recap Grovid21 Quick Recap Grovid 21
Alive After A Week Away Alive After A Week Away
40 Days and 40 nights 40 Days and 40 Nights
Label My Garden Label My Garden Grovid
Garden Labels So FAR Labels Grovid 21
Tomatos Are OUTSIDE! Tomatos Are Grovid Ready
Going Outside Grovid 21 Going Outside
Some Outside, Some In Some Outside, Some Inside
UpPotting Day! Uppotting Day!
Herbs and Veggies! Herbs and Veggies for Dinner
St. Patricks Day Grovid St. Patrick's Grovid21
Peppers and More Peppers, Peppers, Peppers!
Grow Baby Grow update Peppers, so far
Seed Starter Mix and Planting! Seed Starting
Indoor Lighting Station Set Up! Lighting Setup!
The Seed Packets Arrived! Starting From Seed
Here's a quick RECAP post about Last Year's Garden.

community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.png

1000 posts.pngcomments.pngpayout.png
postallweek.pngchristmas2018.pngpostallmonth.png
7250.png95000.png105000.png
birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency