Potato Potato Potato, But It's Not All Good?

IMG_1454.JPG

Not exactly what I was hoping for, But STILL GOOD

Not quite what I was expecting... but, what I feared. I noticed that, couple weeks after popping thru, the greens for the potato all disappeared in this second Grow Bag. Later, a single stem came back up, maybe 4 weeks later. I suspect, all the seed potato rotted, but one. Only the one stalk and the sudden die off, is why, a few weeks ago, I only harvested the one healthy Grow Bag. I wanted to give this one a little longer to maybe produce?

My Fears Confirmed, when I found three rotted Yukon Gold Potato (the original Seed Potatos) Seems that of the 3 Purple Potato, only one made it. one rotted. Rains most likely assisted the rotting.

Here's where it all Started: Potato Starts a few months ago, in late winter.

Below About 8 weeks or so ago, the potato all looked like this, lots of Greenery. Suddenly, the greens all died, and withered away.

IMG_1239.JPG

Next, I pulled what remained. Then, about 4 weeks later, one lone single green stalk came up, in center. I feared all the rest of the seed potato had rotted away. Later, I would find, I was right.

Below My oldest and I tipped the heavy 25 gallon Grow Bag, up into a wheel barrow. Carefully, we had sifted the dirt away, and pulled out any found potato. We put them aside onto the nearby garden chair. All large roots, were pulled, and tossed to the compost pile.

For size, the larger Purple Potato are about two fists. The smallest purple Potato was the size of the seed potato! The tiny Yukon Gold's are half a thumb sized at best. We found two rotted purple seed potato, and all the Yukon Gold seed potato died off. What remains after all the rotting occurred.

IMG_1453.JPG

IMG_1450.JPG

Above After a base of about 4 inches of amended soil, we immediately added a few Red Bliss seed potato back in. 3 potato outside, around the edge,(think North, West, and South) and one in center. One Yukon Gold seed potato added in as well (Think East at 3 O'clock).

IMG_1451.JPG

Above This is Grow Bag one, after pulling potato and replanting a few weeks ago: some greens starting to show! Remember, I planted TWO Grow bags of Potato, and Today's is the second. This is the FIRST Grow Bag Harvest only a few weeks ago.

I expect, with both potato bags planted, harvested, and now both replanted, I will likely get a second harvest, end of October.

I can't wait to see what the next harvest brings!

Feeding my family fresh, and naturally home grown food, makes me smile!

Previous Grovid 21 Posts:

Dinner And A Show Dinner And A Show
Joyed and Whelmed Joyed and Whelmed
Garden's Below Garden's Below
Food For Family Food For Family
Spaghetti Squash Soon Spaghetti Squash Soon
Peck of Purple Pepper Peck Of Purple Pepper
Today's Garden Pick Todays Garden Pickings
Midnight In the Garden of Bluefin and Elsa Minight In the Garden Of Bluefin And Elsa
Sprawlin' Spaghetti Squash Surprise Sprawlin' Spaghetti Squash Surprise!
Dinner and More... Dinner, and More...
Potato Harvest One. Potato Harvest One
Cherry Cherry, Bo Berry Cherry Cherry, Bo Berry!
Almost Ripe, Almost Tasty Amost Ripe, Almost Tasty!
I Grow, Therefore I Am I Grow, Therefore I Am
Lettuce Look! Lettuce Look At The Garden
Vegetable Garden Vegetable Garden Video Tour
Plants and Flowers VIDEO TOUR Plants and Flowers Video Tour
Quick Recap Grovid21 Quick Recap Grovid 21
Alive After A Week Away Alive After A Week Away
40 Days and 40 nights 40 Days and 40 Nights
Label My Garden Label My Garden Grovid
Garden Labels So FAR Labels Grovid 21
Tomatos Are OUTSIDE! Tomatos Are Grovid Ready
Going Outside Grovid 21 Going Outside
Some Outside, Some In Some Outside, Some Inside
UpPotting Day! Uppotting Day!
Herbs and Veggies! Herbs and Veggies for Dinner
St. Patricks Day Grovid St. Patrick's Grovid21
Peppers and More Peppers, Peppers, Peppers!
Grow Baby Grow update Peppers, so far
Seed Starter Mix and Planting! Seed Starting
Indoor Lighting Station Set Up! Lighting Setup!
The Seed Packets Arrived! Starting From Seed
Here's a quick RECAP post about Last Year's Garden.


Bluefin Studios


Get your OWN BADGES, at HIVE BUZZ


Bluefin Studios is a photographer, specializing in wildlife, nature, landscapes, waterfalls and Lighthouses!

Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.png

1000 posts.pngcomments.pngpayout.png
postallweek.pngchristmas2018.pngpostallmonth.png
7250.png95000.png105000.png
birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency