Potato Harvest ONE

IMG_1252.JPG

POTATO HARVEST #1

This is year three of planting Potato, and the earliest, by far, that I have harvested potato. As I have mentioned, recently, we've had a heat wave for a week plus of over 100F (38C), followed by almost a week of torrential rains. Everything is waterlogged.

IMG_1239.JPG

Above None of the greens of my potato are standing. All are flopped over, and many are yellowed! This usually means it is time to Harvest.

Two large baskets, of Potato. I planted four medium-small Red Bliss seed potato, and 4 small Blue seed potato in the same 25 gallon Grow Bag, in late February earlier this year.

Below After seeing the bent and yellowed stalks, My oldest daughter and I harvested one of the two 25 gal Grow Bags, and below is our HAUL. We found 3 of the 4 Red Bliss seed Potato, and one rotted one. We found 1 of the 4 Blue Beauty and 3 rotted ones.

Our haul below, a little 8 lbs (3.5 kilos) Red Bliss. Including the teensy tiny ones. About a pound (about half a kilo) of Blue Potato. (also, two small Zucchini picked, and a few Peas, in the right basket)

IMG_1255.JPG

IMG_1242.JPG

Above After emptying the old potato and dirt out, sifting to find stragglers, etc I filled the 25 Gallon Grow Bag about a 1/4 full of a compost, soil, and peat. I dropped my 6 Red Bliss seed potato, with eyes growing, onto the soil/compost mix.

I checked my calendar, and I am sure I have enough days in my growing season for a second planting of Potato. AND, I happen to have some Red Bliss Potato, that has been sitting inside, and chitting out the eyes. You know? Little roots growing from the Potato Eyes!

IMG_1244.JPG

Above Potato is a heavy feeder, so, after about 4 more inches of compost/soil mix, I added in some Fertilizer, a 3-4-6 NPK. That's: 3% Nitrogen, 4% Phosphate, and 6 % Potassium. I then filled the Grow Bag to about 1 to 2 inches below surface. On top of that, I added another handful of the same 3-4-6 NPK.

Below A last look at the harvest of potato, today. The large Red is about two fists, most of the smaller Red Bliss is about palm-sized, with the Blue Potato slightly smaller. Some of the tiniest potato are smaller than a pill.

IMG_1251.JPG

Bluefin Studios


Get your OWN BADGES, at HIVE BUZZ


Bluefin Studios is a photographer, specializing in wildlife, nature, landscapes, waterfalls and Lighthouses!

Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.



community.pngDolphin copy.pngsupportbuzz.png

1000 posts.pngcomments.pngpayout.png
postallweek.pngchristmas2018.pngpostallmonth.png
7250.png95000.png105000.png
birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency