Happy Birthday Yia Yia!

77223456_10157933373929180_7367199510688169984_n.jpg

Today's harvest post is a nod to one of the people who got me started, on cooking, in the garden, and in life: my grandmother, on mom's side, my Yia Yia! (That's what we Greek's call our grandmothers!) The image above is my Yia Yia, yours Truly, and my mom.

From the youngest age, I can remember being on her back porch, and looking over the edge, down at her garden. She lived an an area of town with a lot of Greek Immigrants, and the entire street was covered in Greekness! The who section of town was a large, steep hill.

Her back yard was about 10 feet lower than the front street. And the house was up on a foundation. By the time all the steps were factored, it was maybe 20 feet (6 meters) down from the back porch.

My grandfather raised chickens, had a gazillion tomato plants, cucumber, all kinds of vegetables. one day, standing on the porch, I remember my conservative, staid Yia Yia and I looking out over the gardens, as my Papou worked the plants.

She turned to me, and softly said, "I love that man." She never talked about emotions. She never talked feelings. She talked about him providing for her and the family, or the food he grew... never emotions. It's probably why, this, among all of our conversations stands out.

I'm no Freud, but, for sure, this impacted me. It's why, even today, I am so driven to provide, to cook, and to care for my girls.

IMG_1541.JPG

Above Today's harvest, 3 more Banana Peppers, a dozen more tomato,a couple dozen cherry tomato, and another zucchini. There's carrot ready, lettuce, and herbs, too, and onion. I don't need any and natures storage unit (the ground) works better than my house. I am not sure if I will process and can the Banana Pepper today. But I will be thinking of my Yia Yia, born today, 6 August, 1910. I hope she's smiling down on me, today.

Happy Birthday, Yia Yia!

Previous Grovid 21 Posts:

Making Sun Dried Tomato Making Sun Dried Tomato
From Soil, To Sir, With Love From Soil, To Sir, With Love
A Time To Sow A Time To Sow
Helluva Tomato Haul HELLUVA TOMATO HAUL
Potato Potato Potato Potato Potato Potato
Dinner And A Show Dinner And A Show
Joyed and Whelmed Joyed and Whelmed
Garden's Below Garden's Below
Food For Family Food For Family
Spaghetti Squash Soon Spaghetti Squash Soon
Peck of Purple Pepper Peck Of Purple Pepper
Today's Garden Pick Todays Garden Pickings
Midnight In the Garden of Bluefin and Elsa Minight In the Garden Of Bluefin And Elsa
Sprawlin' Spaghetti Squash Surprise Sprawlin' Spaghetti Squash Surprise!
Dinner and More... Dinner, and More...
Potato Harvest One. Potato Harvest One
Cherry Cherry, Bo Berry Cherry Cherry, Bo Berry!
Almost Ripe, Almost Tasty Amost Ripe, Almost Tasty!
I Grow, Therefore I Am I Grow, Therefore I Am
Lettuce Look! Lettuce Look At The Garden
Vegetable Garden Vegetable Garden Video Tour
Plants and Flowers VIDEO TOUR Plants and Flowers Video Tour
Quick Recap Grovid21 Quick Recap Grovid 21
Alive After A Week Away Alive After A Week Away
40 Days and 40 nights 40 Days and 40 Nights
Label My Garden Label My Garden Grovid
Garden Labels So FAR Labels Grovid 21
Tomatos Are OUTSIDE! Tomatos Are Grovid Ready
Going Outside Grovid 21 Going Outside
Some Outside, Some In Some Outside, Some Inside
UpPotting Day! Uppotting Day!
Herbs and Veggies! Herbs and Veggies for Dinner
St. Patricks Day Grovid St. Patrick's Grovid21
Peppers and More Peppers, Peppers, Peppers!
Grow Baby Grow update Peppers, so far
Seed Starter Mix and Planting! Seed Starting
Indoor Lighting Station Set Up! Lighting Setup!
The Seed Packets Arrived! Starting From Seed
Here's a quick RECAP post about Last Year's Garden


Bluefin Studios


Get your OWN BADGES, at HIVE BUZZ


Bluefin Studios is a photographer, specializing in wildlife, nature, landscapes, waterfalls and Lighthouses!

Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.png

1000 posts.png5000.pngpayout.png
postallweek.pngchristmas2018.pngpostallmonth.png
7250.png95000.png105000.png
birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency