Would you like some more personal information about me Mr Google and Mr Facebook?

Maybe I missed it, but why the hell are Google now asking me to verify my age and ID using a Passport or Credit Card?
Do I now need to beg them for the privilege of harvesting my data?

I guess i'm not really shocked by this, but seeing it appear on my settings I thought it was more of a question about knowing who I am... until I click "next" and am taken to a page asking me to upload pictures of passports etc.
Wow, Web 3.0 can't come soon enough, we really need to take back our privacy and have control over these large corporations monetising our personal information for their already vast profits!

Combine this with the data that Facebook and their many growing subsidiaries are picking up from you and it's getting closer and closer to some of the Orwellian fictional writings! The issue with these centralised sites is that they control what you see and this can be particularly scary when you imagine governments changing or political views becoming more aligned with the corporations goals, just by feeding specific content on a regular basis - mind control if you will. Sounds dramatic i know, but think about it.

Anyway, here is a video on the how deep an insight simply posting on Facebook can give these corporations. Oh, and yes, ironically i'm posting a like to a Centralised Youtube video which is owned by Google

laser.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency