A Tale Of Two Pizzas: Every Man Has His Price

Copy of Copy of Copy of Dark and Cream Specials Coffee Photo Collage (2).jpg

"Please, Sir! Forgive me? I never wanted to do it! My elderly parents live in the Baron's keep. In their early years before the Fall, they helped to maintain the computers in that building. Afterwards they served each Baron faithfully as technical experts. And hardware repair consultants."

"Liar!!! There are no computers to maintain!"

"B-b-but that's just what they want you to think. Twenty-two of them survived, and thanks to my parents each Baron who has ever ruled there has had the advantage of advanced weather forecasting. At least as long as he had something to power at least one computer..."

"IMPOSSIBLE! Weather forecasting involved input from satellites, and there is no network! The satellites themselves are probably gone!"

"The satellites are still in working order, Sir. And my parents have set up a network. They really are amazing!"

"This is all well and good Barry, but what does it have to do with your betrayal?" Said the Oil Baron in an icy voice.

"My mom is legally blind, and my dad has dementia. Neither are worth anything to Mr. Rupert any more. I tried to bring them with me when I left for your lands, but he said they should stay. As long as I proved useful they would live in comfort, and receive the best care possible. And if not... T-t-there was a serviceable shack at the edge of town, with a small store just across the road. T-t-they could feast from the dumpster every night." said Barry, sobbing.

"Let Mrs. Preda and I think on the situation. Meanwhile you can meditate on your actions. In the cellar..."

"Sir - uh, Danny - I have news! The Oil Baron is plotting against you. All I know so far is that he's very angry about giving you such a good deal on the heating oil. He wants to steal your chef, at any cost. Barry sent me moments after he heard this. He said that he will send another messenger with the details in a day or two."

"Thank you, Wesley. Once you and your horse are rested, you can go back. Meanwhile you might want to go visit your Uncle Vinny, from what I understand he is having one of his good days. Keep your ears and eyes open!"

"Of course! And thank you for taking such good care of him! Without your doctors he would have died over a year ago."

" You know I always want the best for my people. Enjoy your day."

"Danny! I have news!" said Otto, bursting into the luxurious room as the messenger left.

"I hope it's better than the news I just got...' he muttered.

"The olive crisis is over! There are still some olive trees in Italy, and we are getting the next crop! It's being picked now! They will be placed on the fastest clipper ship available, compliments of the Baron. He said after this he is even, but he's still very grateful to you."

"I knew it was a good idea to send him that desalinization system for his flagship trading vessel! Everything is going to work out perfectly, thank you for the news, Otto. Oh, please sit down. I need to talk to you about the anchovies..."

This is a 100% power up post

Image made using Canva, pictures are from their gallery

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
42 Comments
Ecency