A New Companion (A Standalone Part Of The Coin Series)

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Dark and Cream Specials Coffee Photo Collage.jpg

"Let's do it, Josh."

"The sooner the better, Ella!" I said, smiling.

Yes the plan is dangerous, but we don't have a choice. Ella probably won't be able to go home - ever - if we fail to recover the ancient and powerful object.

I hate the idea of breaking and entering! But what choice do I have? He broke into my home, and later knocked me out to steal what I am trying to recover. I can't call the authorities, because it would just freak my parents out. The police probably wouldn't even find the coin.

"We have everything we need, Josh. While we wait let's go have ice cream and coffee?"

"Sure! Then let's go to the museum?"

"Perfect!"

I have known her for such a short time. And her parents creep me out! But I like Ella, she's become my closest friend. A companion who I can happily spend all day with. Maybe I can talk her into doing her studies from the college I have chosen.

"Careful with that alarm, Josh. Cut the wire before you go in front, it might have a motion detector." Ella whispered.

I nodded my agreement, and in seconds disabled the alarm of the modest home. It had been easy enough to follow the shopkeeper to his house. We knew the coin had to be there, no way would he leave it at the store after what he went through to get it.

Creeping in, we found his bedroom. The older man was snoring, so we began our search. Once my eyes fully adjusted to the dark, I saw it.

"There is a pouch is around his neck. It has to be in there." I breathed into Ella's ear.

Then I crept out of the room. Thankfully the kitchen door was open, and the dishes were in the sink, including a razor sharp steak knife.

Careful not to move the part touching him, I carefully cut the shoelace holding the makeshift pouch in place. As I slid it away, his eyes flew open.

"Don't move!" I said, showing him the sharp knife. I never could have used it on him, but he didn't know that.

"Find something to secure his hands and feet."

"Here."

The duct tape he had been keeping in the bathroom for a leaky sink pipe would be perfect.

"I'm sorry we had to tie you up, but you stole this - and that rock could have killed me! Why did you do it?"

"I had to. It's dangerous."

"What do you know about it?" asked Ella.

" I am an amateur archeologist. On an expedition to southern Mexico I found an ancient temple - a pyramid! My partner and I were allowed to keep several valuable items as a reward for our discovery. The coin was among those items."

"Why did you sell it?" I asked him.

"It was more of a trade. Freson, my partner, betrayed me. My portion of the reward included a crown which was estimated to be worth 3.5 million dollars. He stole it, and murdered my adult son who caught him in the act and tried to stop him. I was in the garden when I heard the shot. I found him bleeding to death from a gunshot wound, but he told me what happened first."

"I'm sorry for your loss." said Ella, wiping a tear off of the old man's face with her sleeve.

"Thank you, miss. Anyway, the crown has the same symbols on it as the coin, which are unique. I put out the word to some trusted sources that I was looking for anything with those symbols. Eventually I found Freson. He lives in this town. So does his only son. I have met the young man."

"Why didn't you call the police?" I asked.

"I wanted revenge. But after meeting Freson's son, I knew I couldn't cause him any harm. So I moved here and watched both of them, waiting for the perfect opportunity. This was when I received a call from one of my sources. He said someone else was asking about those symbols I had shown. I wasn't interested in selling, but I was curious about someone who knew about the writing. Could they maybe help decipher it?"

"Let me guess, an older couple with the last name of Harris?" asked Ella.

"Yes! And when I told them my story, Mrs. Harris made me an offer. She said if I sold them the coin, she could make Freson's son disappear to some sort of other dimension. A place where he would be happy. She also said that if her colleagues didn't come to collect the coin, that I could have it back. In fact she insisted. Said that it needed a keeper until it was needed again."

"You didn't think they were crazy?" I asked, incredulous.

"The thought crossed my mind. But something had to be done. And I have seen a lot of strange things. Now I'm a believer! He went missing as promised."

"My name is Ella Harris. I am both their daughter and colleague. And I am here to collect the coin."

"This is fine. As I told your companion, I am just keeping it for your family. Can you please let me loose before you leave? I don't have anyone to come check on me."

"Of course, Sir." she said, taking the steak knife and slicing through the strong tape.

The next day, I met Ella for ice cream again. I had a bad feeling it might be the last time I would see her. This bothered me a lot more than I thought it would. And then in her typical no nonsense manner, she got right down business!

"Josh, I have an urge to check out college any suggestions?"

I smiled. "Only one... But I think you will love it!"

This is a 100% power up post

Cover image is made by me using free images from the Canva gallery


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency