Wednesday Walk at the Big Box Nursery - by Sunscape

t.jpg

A person can never have too many flowers, right? I stopped at our local big box store/nursery to see if they had any herbs I wanted. Of course, since the plants all came up from the south and were thrown outside with our cold nights, they looked pretty sad.

wednesdaywalkabout-hivegarden-2.jpg

I wandered through the isles of shrubs, flowers, and yard goods to see what was new for this season. I have to admit there wasn't much that impressed me.

I did like the blue glass ornaments on the wrought iron stakes. But, the last thing I need is another thing to put away every fall. If you know me at all, you know I love white flowers and the Rhododendron caught my eye. The large baskets of hanging ferns were impressive but I already have one of my own.

n (1).jpg

The store had not received a lot of flowers yet, so there wasn't much to pick from for annuals. A lot of the shelving was still empty and I expect they will fill them this next week.

wednesdaywalkabout-hivegarden-1.jpg

I was tempted to purchase one of the Calla Lilies since it has been years since I have had them in my garden, but I restrained myself. I have so many of my own seedlings to find places for. ♥

r.jpg

There were a lot of Ranunculus flowers which were pretty but the plants were all yellowing already. I will be surprised if anyone buys them in that bad shape.

q.jpg

It is a sweet flower and reminds me of a Zinnia or Lisianthus. Since I have two full seed trays of Zinnia I decided it was too similar to be added to the garden this season.

d.jpg

I loved the frog and turtle statues and thought about how one would look at the pond. But, alas they were too pricey for my taste. Maybe at the end of the season, they might have a clearance sale.

c.jpg

As I was leaving the store I spotted the Heather in large pots which were so pretty. I used to have some in my south garden but they died years ago. If a plant doesn't last too long, it never gets replaced. With today's economy the way it is I tend to be more frugal than I ever was and I am sure many of you are too.

Thank you @tattoodjay for this fun, weekly #wednesdaywalk posting community.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency