Adelaide Hive Meetup July '21


img_0.8716607145939491.jpg@Mattclarke and @Shaidon

Adelaide Hive Meetup


A fine mist of condensation formed on my glasses before receding and returning back to partially obscure my vision before, once again, repeating the cycle.

I was wearing a surgical mask, and it was directing my warm breath onto my cold glasses as I was checking Google maps for the next bus that would take me into the city of Adelaide.

4 minutes. Not long to wait at all.

An ex girlfriend, who is a registered nurse, once taught me the technique of wearing a surgical mask without fogging up glasses, but I have long since forgotten it.


img_0.20309477825096398.jpgNinja on a bus

I was on my way to the Adelaide Hive Meetup at The Jade, a local pub in the central business district or CBD for short. The meetings are rather informal and are often held in the outside beer garden of the pub if the weather is warm enough.

The pub is small, sometimes poorly lit and can be rather noisy when there are bands playing or there's event on inside.
We normally go inside during the Winter months.

Tonight however was an exception because there was no forecast of rain and a recent week long lockdown meant that a mask wearing ordinance was in place, so we stayed outside for the most part. It was still cold, what with it being the middle of Winter here.

On the bus, I saw the most amazing sunset and mangaged to capture a video and some photos.


img_0.8005357675062829.jpgSunset on the North - South Expressway

When I arrived, I saw @mattclarke sitting in the beer garden.

He asked if we could get a selfie together for the people in the South Australia discord channel. We were both wearing our Splinterlands merch, courtesy of @chrisroberts and @carrieallen.

I agreed to it, as I'll do anything for a fan. Chuckle.


img_0.8716607145939491.jpg@Mattclarke and @Shaidon wearing Splinterlands gear

Image source: @mattclarke.

It didn't take long before the conversation was all about Splinterlands and the new SPS (or Splinterlands Governance Token) airdrop.

Imagine being airdropped the equivalent of your daily FIAT job income only in SPS tokens, and it growing over the next 362 days as you increase your investment back into the game. Crazy times.

Not financial advice - the price has dropped since launch, but who's silly enough to sell right now anyway... right?

@focus.folks turned up on his bike and we introduced him to Splinterlands. I hope that he sees the potential of the game as an investment long term. Short term it's been incredible for me personally.

As an introductory surprise gift for using my affiliate code, I took the liberty of buying him an Alpha common Spineback Wolf card as it's one of the few cards still in the affordable range.

Have you seen the prices lately? Insane.

It was a rather chilly 13oC but we staved off the cold with more talk about Splinterlands,SPS tokens, and various other goings on on the Hive block-chain over a few beers and diet Cokes.

The Jade pub was empty after a week long lockdown, and because of the cold, but the staff were still willing to offer drinks and meals, it being their job and all.

There wasn't much available to choose from, but @focus.folks and I both ordered the Thai green curry and rice, while I also had toasted banana bread.


img_0.3950496658459758.jpgThai green curry and rice


img_0.4198189497641511.jpgThe remains of the toasted banana bread

The banana bread was so good that I neglected to photograph it before I started eating it!!

@focus.folks talked about his history on Steem, before switching to Hive and @mattclarke and I did the same.
It's always great to see a local Hive user.

These meetings are always good to meet the people you're interacting with online, face to face, but to also discuss some of the finer points of what's going on in crypto, Splinterlands and the Hive block-chain in general.

There's a lot of understanding and optimism generated here. It's not just the financial aspect, but the intangible stuff too.
Like the adventures you have, meeting new people, seeing things you've never seen before and more.

Something to ponder:

What does HIVE represent to you?

In fact, I will make it a competition. I will upvote 100% anyone who does a post on the above question and tags me in it. I might even throw some HIVE your way.

I really need to do more competitions...

Anyway, I am sure there will be a lot to discuss next time.
I'll be sure to fill you in, but until next time stay healthy.

Shaidon.


img_0.7283408492603326.jpg
Shaidon's Seal Of Approval

img_0.38350239628813504.jpg

#silverbloggers #neoxian #spt

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency