Coto Makassar Bhaita at Sorong City, West Papua

Rendrianarma - Coto Makassar Bhaita 001.JPG

Greetings, today I want to talk about traditional food from Makassar city, the name of the food is Coto Makassar. According to Wikipedia Coto Makassar or Coto Mangkasara is an Indonesian Traditional soup originating from Makassar, South Sulawesi. It’s a variant of Soto made from ground peanuts and spice. With beef as the main ingredient of this soup, also can be mixed with innards such as intestine, liver, lungs, heart, tripe, or cow brain.

On my way back from Manokwari, I have to wait about 8 hours for my flight to Manado, and I and my friend have to transit at Domine Eduard Osok Airport at Sorong, West Papua.

After discussing for a while with my friend, we decided to take a cab to find a place for us to enjoy Coto Makassar. My friend told me that he has a favorite place that serves a tasty Coto Makassar.

Source : https://id.pinterest.com/pin/312226186643784584/

It took us about 15 minutes from DEO Airport, and we arrived at “Warung Bhatia Coto Makassar”. The place is not big and has a good building either, they use the old building and as far my friend knows that they haven’t change the building design for almost 10 years.

The places may not good for your eyes, but don’t judge the food by its building.

I and my friend entered the building, and look at the menus, and ordered 3 portions of Coto Makassar with mixed innards. By the way, you can choose the main ingredients yourself so feel free to choose whatever you like.


Rendrianarma - Coto Makassar Bhaita 006.JPG Buras


Rendrianarma - Coto Makassar Bhaita 007.JPGKetupat

The order took a while to served, so we just talking and enjoy the light food they serve on the table. There is a plate that contains “Buras” and “ketupat”. I ask my friend what is “Buras” because I know about “Ketupat” but don’t know a thing about “Buras”.

He says just the same, but “Buras” uses banana leaf instead of coconut leaf. I taste the Buras and the Ketupat, the taste is almost identical with a significant difference in the smell and taste, maybe because of using the different leaf for wrapping.

Rendrianarma - Coto Makassar Bhaita 004.JPG

Rendrianarma - Coto Makassar Bhaita 005.JPG

My food comes, and there’s nothing to wait for because I haven’t eaten a proper breakfast.

Rendrianarma - Coto Makassar Bhaita 002.JPG

Rendrianarma - Coto Makassar Bhaita 003.JPG

If you look at the food, the color is not good as you think, but the taste and the smell are so good. Without additional ketchup and chili, the soup taste is still good enough, but if you feel the soup is less salty, you can add more salt, put it on the table, or the soup is not spicy enough add some more chili sauce as much as you want.

Rendrianarma - Coto Makassar Bhaita 008.JPG

If you feel the taste or the smell is a bit fishy, you can add this lemon slice on your coto, because it will suppress the fishy taste or fishy smell.

Rendrianarma - Coto Makassar Bhaita 009.JPG

Here is the innard part that you can order, if you’re a moslem, you dont have to worry because it’s Halal my friend. So don’t worry.

Rendrianarma - Coto Makassar Bhaita 010.JPG

Rendrianarma - Coto Makassar Bhaita 011.JPG

Coto Makassar Bhaita price just about $2 without additional Buras, Ketupat, or Another drink. For $2 this food is so cheap, but the taste will make it want it more.

That is for today, see you at the next food guys :D

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency