The Most Honored Holiday In Nigeria - Independence Day

Nigeria Independence Day.png

Arise O Compatriots
Nigeria's Call obey
To serve our fatherland
With love and strength and faith
The labor of our heroes past
Shall never be in vain
To serve with heart and might
One nation bound in freedom, peace and unity

National anthem of Nigeria written in 1960

This was the song sang by our fore fathers to mark a new beginning and a journey into freedom for the Nigerians. And it's been sang every October 1st to mark its remembrance - A holiday called The Independence Day.

pexels-photo-5789318.jpeg
Source

The independence day was established after so many years of slavery as Nigerians. I remember a movie I watched which focused more on how hard and liable life was for Nigerians years back, you can imagine the happiness when they became free finally from their captives.

This brought about the every year celebration that is being honored in all parts of the Country - A holiday of no work but celebration continuously. I specially love this holiday in my country because I didn't have to go to work at the time I was employed and as a student presently, I wouldn't have to attend lectures.

pexels-photo-5789323.jpeg
Source

Independence day in Nigeria is felt at the market mostly, you see different items in the Country's flag color all over the market and people gather to buy them and design their homes and themselves for the holiday.

Nice meals are prepared in houses while some prepare normal meals but everyone is happy about that day especially those who know the story behind it. That day is a total rest day for me, I just stay at home and enjoy movies or play around with my siblings. Some of the holidays, I listen to the radio or switch on the television to see how my fellow Nigerians celebrate the Day.

pexels-photo-6894978.jpeg
Source

I remember one of the holidays where I was excited about it so much that I bought a nice green and white wear for it specially.... That was the most memorable independence holiday I ever had, I wish I could share a picture of that but I don't have it anymore.

Another amazing thing about the holiday is that it brings families together to have fun, you see families traveling from place to place to meet their loved ones and spend time together in celebrating their country's freedom day.

I'm amazed at the way this holiday is being celebrated amidst the bad governance and some "I don't care" attitude of the citizens in so many aspects for the growth of the country.

Nigerians freedom day reminds me that there are so many things to be grateful for even though we face some difficulties in our country.

Nigeria is a great country with so many histories of achievements, I just hope and pray we grow higher and enjoy our freedom... Up Nigeria!!!

This is my entry for the Hive Cross culture contest. I would like to invite @kenechukwu97 to participate in it, Here is a link to the contest.

First image was created using Canva app

Thanks for reading, visit for more of my blogs

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency