The Power Of Silence

IMG_20211007_165856.jpg

We live in a very busy world. Everyone is on the move and up to one activity or the other. Every corner you turn into, be it a private residence, or a public place or even in the recesses of our minds, there's always a hive of activity going on.

Until you experience a thing, you cannot earnestly desire it's opposite. I am surrounded by so much activity and boisterity that I long for some silence daily.

IMG_20211007_165918.jpg

I just don't mean outward silence but also inner silence. Do you value silence like I do? People often say it's because I am an introvert, that's the reason I love quietness around me. Although I do not fully understand how our temperaments contributes to this, it may be true on some grounds.

Extroverts are such lively people and thrive well in the midst of activities and boisterity. In fact, they enjoy being the life of a party or the center of attraction in a room. It's the opposite for most introverts I know.

I realized that where more than two people occupy a space or room, conversations will fill the air which at some point may inevitably lead to some noise making and in no time discord may arise.

Can two people co-exist in an environment without conflict? The answer is NO because conflict is a part of life, a portrayal of our differences in character and personality.

For a person who values silence more, it would not be easy to thrive in an environment —one riddled by much noise wherein conflicts arises from time to time, and when such conflicts are not well managed and resolved, malicious activities may also flourish in such an environment because of our human desire to want to always win or control certain situations.

When I settle down to work or even write a post, I prefer to do it in silence so my mind and brain can interact fluidly without external or internal distractions. The end result is always satisfying.

woman-3411790__480.jpg

Unlike me, there are friends who I know that can read and study in the midst of a crowd. That I cannot do the same, does it mean it's a case of frailty of the mind? Does it mean my friends' minds are stronger and can withstand any distraction? I don't believe so. I think it bores down to our temperament in this aspect.

Another reason I value quietness or silence is that it affords me an opportunity of self-reflection.

Screenshot_20211007_170055.jpg

When I tune inwards and begin reflecting, though it's an activity that activates my brain, silence helps me have a clear perspective as to what truly matters and what should take priority. This consequently leads to self growth.

Beyond the mental relief that silence gives, it helps our bodies to rest and recharge. Can you sleep in a noisy environment? I cannot but when quietness sets in, my body 'feels' it and immediately conforms. With my brain transmitting the message of silence to my body, it becomes easy to fall asleep and my body gets her needed rest.

In this article, Dr. Sullivan enumerates the benefits of silence thus:

  • More profound thoughts.
  • Stronger relationships.
  • Increased creativity.
  • Improved communication skills.

One thing I know is that most inventors whether scientific or technological, acquired their breakthroughs from working in silence.

It's beneficial to set aside a scheduled time every day and spend it in silence. It does not have to be elaborate. A few minutes with a cup of coffee watching the sunrise, quiet moments in the bathtub or in the shower, or before bedtime. Daily quiet times are encouraged and in turn, your body and mind will flourish.

Thank you for visiting my blog.

This article is my entry to the #POB-WOTW Season 3 Challenge Round Contest. You are invited to participate.

Reference
Image source 1
Image source 2
Image source 3
Image source 4

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency