Phill from GCHQ - page 65 - Spirals

Spirals - Page 65 of the cartoon about Phill from GCHQ - a free comic that I have been working on since September 2016.

Previous page: Phill from GCHQ - page 64 - Raven Donoho

(thanks to @steevc for the idea about pointing to the previous page. Remember that the comic can also be read on the its own website.

Introduction to this weeks page


I had the idea that the stone age spirals of the British Isles should be a magic countermeasure to the evil Celtic Gods when I was contemplating where Phill and his travelling companions had gone into hiding after page 51. Somehow I had an idea that it could be a old tin mine like the ones I had seen in Cornwall when I was last there, but then I realised that some of these mines very old, dating back to the bronze age. Tin is, together with copper, a component of bronze, and recent archeology has shown that inter continental trading routes were much more common than hitherto believed. Tin from Cornwall and Wales was used in Mycenae, Ugarit and Memphis.

And then when I had read about these mines I suddenly envisioned the image used in the top of page 63: a cave with an enormous spiral on the wall. Earlier than the bronze age. A neolithic cave.

Here is a pdf with an introduction to these old holes and spirals: http://archaeologydataservice.ac.uk/catalogue/era-836/dissemination/pdf/ERA_Brochure.pdf

I have also included one of Phill's security advices. It is of course referring to Eleanor's cool and controlled reaction to the nightmare creatures that were taking over her life. But I also got the idea after my wife and daughter both received some of the rather rude and unpleasant emails scammer send to people these days. The thing with the email was that it contained a password, one that had really been in use (and still was on some of my wife's accounts). The reaction was what gave me the idea to use it here as my wife panicked, phoned me at once and made me look into it. If she hadn't had me I guess she might have done something stupid. My daughter (@scarlet-rain) on the other hand, reacted like Eleanor. She coolly went through the possible reasons that they had this old password and concluded that some old webpage database had been hacked, and that the criminals only had a set of email/password on each person. No need to pay them an enormous amount in Bitcoins!

Yes, I am immensely proud of my daughters.

Note that the word Eleanor is writing on the top image is will. I have grown very fond of this strange and complex character.

Happy reading.

Translations

Thanks to some very dedicated and helpful people the comic about Phill from GCHQ can also be read in other languages. New pages are published on their respective Steemit pages. Please follow them and support their work!

I would be very pleased if you considered supporting the comic with fiat-money on:

or with cryptocoins:

Bitcoins: 1EpzfvHpvYui8dguG2sbxk7VvcehxZGNca

Ether: 0x779f31b12862e6d750cbbcdb9a2c315b44504d83

Litecoin: LcUeDDMSzhaGwMd7m6x1qptdNZ3nrPEyiq

Bitcoin Cash: 17xXYeYrJWReqf9r2sgZf5QtigqvXeURUu

Ripple: rBENrZprLN4sjiVEi8JX5rH48k1B9GK9Gd

Steem: here on Steemit :)

The comic is, like all my digital artworks, made exclusively with open source software:


The comic is licensed as

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC-by)

![Phill065_640.jpg](
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency