Minnow Tips: What to do after the fork if you are a small fish

sky blue taxi fitinfun.JPG

The fork is here but all of the consequences are not yet known. Their is no doubt that the rich are getting richer and the rewards for smaller payouts are slashed. I will leave it to others to do the math and try not to worry too much.

I'm seeing a lot of happy posts as the big guys start using their exciting new down votes on spammers and the like. There seem to be some ways developing so we can sell our downvotes for the party. I will do that if I find a way that makes sense.

We have enough people seeking bad guys here. I will stick the supporting good smaller fish and stay on my path as best I can.

I am not seeing any posts about how the big fish will try to help their remaining redfish and minnows survive. I think we need to wait for the thrill of downvoting to become routine before they look up to see if we are still here.

My open posts all lost 20-25% on their rewards after the fork. Now I am waiting to see what happens in the next days.

Here is what I am doing to see if I can survive:

Curation

I have already been spending time trying to improve curation rewards for about the last two months. I had a project going on my @fitinfunfood blog and it worked. My curation rewards pretty much doubled on all three blogs from the efforts I took. I am going to revisit that project and post about it soon, but the basic ideas are:

  • vote more

I vote down to 70-80% now instead of 90% like I used to. This step alone increased my curation rewards dramatically. I am not sure how low you can go and still see good results.

  • vote smarter

Vote for posts that will get good votes after you vote. How can you find those? A lot of the dApps do manual curation of their tags. So a person posts today and gets a fat vote from the dApp tomorrow. This is not a foolproof plan, as not all posts get upvotes, but with practice you will know which ones are likely to be supported.

  • Learn from the winners

Follow the top 10-20 people on the "The Curation League / Rewards based" portion of the weekly The Curation and Engagement Leagues post by @abh12345. These are the people who are maximizing their curation rewards no matter their sp. Learn from their voting patterns and see if you can use similar strategies.

You can see my blogs on the bottom of this league now. I was not there before I started trying to improve so, WooHoo!

Curation Timing

You want to be voting at 4-6 minutes now instead of the 15 we were at. They changed the cut off to 5 minutes now. The sooner you change any auto-voting, the better for your rewards.

Posting Content

I'm still posting what I was posting. 2-4 posts a day on each of my 3 blogs. I do not have a reason to stop. Nothing else I can do will help me survive, and I have all kinds of content ready to go. I hope bigger votes will come in to make up for the fork effects and STEEM price.

Using dApps

I stopped posting with steemit almost a year ago and thank God for making that switch, I use dApps that pay in upvotes and suit my content. These are some of the most reliable and biggest votes I get. All of the dApps seem to be making changes to keep their people posting, so this is a bright spot at the moment.

Tribe Tags

I am tagging my posts with tribe tags now. This new aspect of STEEM is not something I am well versed on yet. But when I see new tokens in my wallet, I check out the tribe and use their tag if it fits. More to come on this huge topic.

That's it for now. If you want to help me keep posting on STEEM, here is some information:

Why should you help me? Why do I think I am worthy of help?

I am an asset to the STEEM blockchain. My constant effort goes to helping redfish and minnows grow here.

I work on three blogs, creating 40+ posts each week. The most important things I post are minnow tips to help others. Here is a post from a few weeks ago with a summary of many of those tips.

You CAN Succeed on STEEM

I am working on a new set of posts in light of all the new tribes and options for them. It is a whole now world of STEEM now that this has happened.

This is what I do on STEEM:

I post 2-4 posts on each blog each day, cycling through the noted dApps below.

@fitinfun

  • esteem - freewrite
  • busy - Minnow Tips
  • nTopaz - Photography

@fitinfunfood

  • esteem- food and ccc posts
  • tasteem - restaurant reviews
  • busy - how to posts about food

@bxlphabet

  • esteem - dApp and gaming reviews
  • dpoll- dApp, lifestyle, and STEEM questions
  • busy - daily holidays

How you can help me

  • Please send any amount of STEEM/SBD to @fitinfun so I can survive.

  • Please upvote any current posts on any or all of my blogs; especially the older ones.
    @fitinfunfood
    @bxlphabet
    @fitinfun

  • Please support any or all of my blogs in an ongoing manner with your auto-voting and following so I can continue on and not have to keep asking for help.
    @fitinfunfood
    @bxlphabet
    @fitinfun

  • Please send any amount of money to my new SE Asian Paypal account.

fitinfun@zoho.com

Send any amount of LTC to
Lhuh274DFkS6CNq4SJjhNem242QYwcTu59

  • If you can "only" vote some posts - It is enough.
  • If you can "only" send 1 STEEM - It is enough.
  • If you can "only" offer advice for how I can do better - It is enough.
  • If you can "only" offer encouragement and good wishes - It is enough.

Thank you so much for your attention,

Sharon
Discord:
fitinfun #2249

The photo for this post is a taxi I passed on the way to the airport in Bangkok. I am going through my vehicle photography these days in preparation for a series to try on the new travelfeed dApp. For someone that does not drive, I sure take a lot of vehicle pics. I took this one with a Canon ELPH160 point and shoot camera.

039lew8cd0.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency