Next Colony: The Rise of Jack Steel Chapter 5, Page 8

nextcolony58.jpg

As was predicted by the Chief Science Officer, Jack Steel found himself walking through the long corridors of Starbase Genesis1, on his way to the Commodore's quarters. After a good night's sleep, and the satisfaction of knowing that the colony was living in a time of peace, Jack was far from nervous about his appointment with the leader of his Starbase. The lightness in his body continued to be felt as he greeted his crewmen with his typical "good morning" to each passerby. As he reached his destination, the door opened before Jack had a chance to tap the console.

  • Thank you for coming by, Mr. Steel.

My pleasure, Commodore Curione, please call me Jack, if you'd prefer.

  • If you don't mind, I'd like to continue to address you in a professional manner. Nothing personal, but I need to maintain a certain rapport with my people. I have two planets under my command, and I need those for whom I am responsible to always be aware of the seriousness of my obligations.

Of course, Sir, that makes perfect sense. I imagine you wish to speak to me concerning the truce we were able to reach in the recent days.

  • That's correct Mr. Steel. As a gentleman, it's only right that I take the time to thank you in person. What you've helped us achieve is no small matter.

I understand, Sir. But I'm not interested in rewards, nor do I have selfish ambitions. I did what I felt was the right thing to do. That's all.

  • And I appreciate that, very much. I hope you will understand, however, that it is this very kind of maturity and altruism that I need in the men that I entrust with positions of great responsibility. For example, my Chief Science Officer, who you respect and trust wholeheartedly. Without his dedication to the sciences, and his professional maturity, we would not have advanced the way we have. Perhaps we would not have even survived. Do you see where I'm going with this, Mr. Steel?

I think I do, Sir. But I don't believe I have any expertise that merit my needing an Officer's rank.

  • You never know, young man. What you accomplished with the truce is something that no one else was able to do. Don't you agree?

Well, yes, I suppose you're right, Sir.

  • Listen, Mr. Steel, I want to give you a gift, as a thank you, and as a sign that I would like to welcome you to become a part of my trusted inner circle. No strings attached, and no obligations.

The Commodore walked over to his private desk, opened a draw and grabbed the gift. He walked back over to where Jack sat and placed the object in front of him, on the table.

bronzepips3.png

What is this, Sir?

  • These are the pips for a First Class Cadet. If you choose to remain a civilian volunteer, you can keep it as a gift. However, if you feel inspired to become an Officer, these pips will allow you access to many restricted areas on our Starbases, as well as access to certain levels of our databases. Being a Cadet is not about command, Mr. Steel, it's about learning, study and training. It's true that you would have command over Second and Third Class Cadets, but sometimes you need a team to accomplish certain missions. You have leadership qualities. I would know, otherwise, I wouldn't be a Commodore.

Thank you, Sir! I don't know what to say.

  • No need to say anything, son. Take whatever time you need to reflect. If you don't mind, I need to get back to my obligations. If ever you need my support, the door is open.

Jack stood, placed the pips in his pocket and extended his hand to give a firm grip to the Commodore. As he made his way back to his quarters, Jack replayed in his mind, over and over, the encounter. He felt a sense of pride, and wonderment about his future. Upon returning to his quarters, he walked over to the photo of his father, placed his gift below the Admiral's pips and spent the morning in introspection.

goldpips4.png

bronzepips3.png

ncbreak.png
nc-banner.png

Recently on Next Colony

ncbreak.png

www.creativecoin.xyz

ccc.png

https://www.steemace.io

steemacebanner.jpg

ncbreak.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency