IAAC - Day 139 Monarch Butterflies in Migration

Today is Monday, October 18th and I am happy to be Alive.

Let me just start with that it is very difficult to catch a Monarch Butterfly in flight while it is migrating. Yesterday, I started seeing a few Monarch butterflies in our backyard but none of them stopped for the flowers that were in bloom. I thought this strange because there were yellow butterflies that were going around to all the flowers so why were the Monarchs not stopping.

I had totally forgot that Monarchs migrate south to overwinter in Mexico. So after I looked Monarchs up online, I was surprised by the length of their trip. Some of them travel over 3000 miles all the way from Canada. I certainly do not like traveling that far.

I sat on the back porch and noticed about one Monarch passed by every 15 seconds or so. That is when I wanted to get their photos. It is very hard to get a photo of a butterfly that is about 10 to 20 feet off the ground riding the wind currents.

Here are the pictures I was able to catch. I just wish I could have gotten closer pictures. Then I wished them luck on that long journey.

MOnarch Migration 8.PNG

Monarch Migration 5.PNG

Monarch Migration 3.PNG

Monarch Migration 6.PNG

I am taking part in the #IAmAliveChallenge. The 4 basic points to take part in the #IAmAliveChallenge are:

IAAC guidelines.png

For more information please refer to their guide at https://www.wearealiveand.social/hive-155221/@wearealive/we-are-alive-tribe-the-guide

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency